Corey Ranger

Corey Ranger is a registered nurse and Clinical Nurse Coordinator for AVI Health & Community Services SAFER Pharmaceutical Alternatives project in Victoria. Corey also works as a project consultant for B.C.’s Provincial Peer Training Curriculum Project, and provides e-learning opportunities across the province through the Homelessness Services Association of BC (HSA-BC).

In the past, Corey has been responsible for implementing HIV programming in rural Southeastern Alberta, as well as supporting the implementation of supervised consumption services in Medicine Hat. Corey’s career began as a street nurse in Edmonton’s inner city, and has taken him to Calgary, Brooks, Medicine Hat, and Victoria. Whether it is leading a die-in on the steps of the Alberta Legislature, or arguing for equitable responses to the global pandemic for people experiencing homelessness, Corey is passionate about dismantling systems that generate stigma and heightens risk for those made vulnerable.

Corey is an advocate for pragmatic public policy and addressing systemic oppressors, including ending the war on drugs. Corey participates in a number of committees and working groups related to inner-city health issues, COVID-19, and the overdose crisis including the Victoria Inner City COVID Response (VICCR) team.

This entry was posted in Board Member, English, French. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Corey Ranger

Corey Ranger est infirmier autorisé et infirmier-clinicien coordonnateur du projet SAFER Pharmaceutical Alternatives d’AVI Health & Community Services, à Victoria. Il travaille également comme consultant de projet pour le Programme provincial de formation des pair-es de la Colombie-Britannique et offre des occasions d’apprentissage en ligne dans toute la province par le biais de la Homelessness Services Association of BC (HSA-BC).

Auparavant, Corey a été responsable de la mise en œuvre de programmes sur le VIH dans des régions rurales du sud-est de l’Alberta et a contribué à la mise en œuvre de services de consommation supervisée à Medicine Hat. Il a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’infirmier de rue dans le quartier central d’Edmonton, ce qui l’a mené à Calgary, à Brooks, à Medicine Hat et à Victoria. Que ce soit en dirigeant une manifestation couchée dans les marches de l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta ou en plaidant pour des réponses équitables à la pandémie mondiale pour les sans-abri, il est passionné par le démantèlement des systèmes qui génèrent la stigmatisation et qui augmentent les risques pour les personnes vulnérables.

Corey milite pour des politiques publiques pragmatiques et contre les oppresseurs systémiques, notamment pour mettre fin à la guerre aux drogues. Il siège à divers comités et groupes de travail liés aux enjeux de santé dans les quartiers défavorisés, à la COVID-19 et à la crise des surdoses, notamment l’équipe Victoria Inner City COVID Response (VICCR).

Cet article a été publié dans Board Member, Anglais, Français. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.