HIV Funding

HIV Funding

hivlegalnetwork.ca/HIVfunding

HIV Funding

OVERVIEW

The Public Health Agency of Canada’s own data confirm that in the years since the Federal Initiative was launched, more than $123 million dollars in funds committed to the federal HIV strategy has been lost. Meanwhile, there have been thousands of new HIV infections, services and programs have been inadequate or even discontinued, research opportunities and needs have gone unaddressed, and community organizations whose engagement is vital to an effective response have struggled or shut down.

The federal government must commit to restore the millions of dollars in funding that have been frozen, diverted, or simply allowed to lapse unspent in Canada’s response to HIV over more than a decade. We must fund the response to HIV at $100 million annually, the level recommended by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Health in 2019.

HIV is not over. Restore the missing millions.


The Federal Initiative to Address HIV/AIDS in Canada (2004)

By the Government of Canada: “The launch of the Federal Initiative to Address HIV/AIDS in Canada signals a renewed and strengthened federal role in the Canadian response to HIV/AIDS.The Federal Initiative – a partnership of the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and Correctional Service Canada – will work toward a […]

No Comments

PRESS RELEASE: The Missing Millions, the Government of Canada and HIV

As community organizations are closing, the federal government presides over the continued steady erosion of federal HIV funding, with $104 million in funds lost from the response.

No Comments

Funding the Fight: Federal Support Needed to End HIV as a Public Health Threat in Canada

Note: this brief was originally published in 2018 and has been updated with recent developments in 2020.  In recent years, the Government of Canada has renewed a commitment to ongoing dialogue and constructive engagement with civil society in the response to HIV, hepatitis C virus (HCV) and other sexually transmitted and blood-borne infections (STBBIs). In […]

No Comments

Adequately funding Canada’s federal HIV strategy

An open letter, sent on December 20, 2016 to Prime Minister Trudeau, Finance Minister Bill Morneau and then Health Minister Jane Philpott to draw attention to a serious, ongoing challenge to the HIV response in Canada. Over the last decade, there has been a very substantial loss of federal funds that were to have been […]

No Comments

Election 2015: Funding the federal HIV/AIDS strategy — Canada’s major federal parties respond

This is the fourth in a series of blog posts being published daily by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network ahead of Election Day on October 19, 2015. Recently, we sent a questionnaire to the five major federal parties, asking their position on key questions related to HIV and human rights. Four out of five parties […]

No Comments

Letter to Minister of Finance James M. Flaherty re: Demonstrating Canada’s Commitment to a Comprehensive Funding Plan for Universal Access to HIV Prevention, Care and Treatment by 2010

“At the Gleneagles Summit in July 2005, G8 leaders promised to develop and implement a package for HIV prevention, treatment and care, with the aim of as close as possible to universal access to treatment for all those who need it by 2010. Canada was among the countries that reaffirmed a commitment to this target […]

No Comments

Deadly Public Policy: The federal government’s failure to provide adequate funding for the fight against HIV/AIDS – Speaking notes

No Comments

Financement VIH

Financement VIH

hivlegalnetwork.ca/FinancementVIH

Financement VIH

APERÇU

Les données de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada confirment qu’au fil des années depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’Initiative fédérale, plus de 123 millions de dollars du financement réservé à la stratégie fédérale en VIH ont été perdus. Dans la même période, de nouveaux cas d’infection par le VIH se sont produits, des services et programmes ont été inadéquats ou même fermés, des occasions et besoins de recherche ont été laissés sans réponse et des organismes communautaires dont la participation est vitale à l’efficacité de la réponse ont été en difficulté ou ont fermé leurs portes.

Le gouvernement fédéral doit s’engager à remettre les millions de dollars de financement qui ont été paralysés, détournés ou simplement laissés non investis dans la réponse du Canada au VIH depuis plus d’une décennie. Il doit financer la réponse au VIH à raison de 100 millions $ par année, la somme recommandée en 2019 par le Comité permanent de la santé de la Chambre des communes.

Le VIH n’est pas une chose du passé. Restituez les millions manquants.


L’Initiative fédérale de lutte contre le VIH/sida au Canada (2004)

Par le gouvernement du Canada : Le lancement de l’Initiative fédérale de lutte contre le VIH/sida au Canada annonce un nouveau rôle renforcé pour le gouvernement fédéral dans la réponse du Canada au VIH/sida. L’Initiative fédérale, fruit d’un partenariat entre l’Agence de santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et le […]

Pas de commentaire

Les millions manquants, le governement du Canada et le VIH

Alors que des organismes communautaires ferment leurs portes,  le gouvernement fédéral cautionne l’érosion constante des fonds fédéraux en VIH : on a perdu 104 millions $ dans le financement de la réponse.

Pas de commentaire

Financer la lutte : le soutien du fédéral est requis pour mettre fin au VIH en tant que menace à la santé publique au Canada

Note : Ce document d’information a paru initialement en 2018 puis nous l’avons actualisé en 2020 selon des développements récents. Depuis quelques années, le Gouvernement du Canada a ravivé son engagement à un dialogue continu et à une collaboration constructive avec la société civile, pour répondre au VIH, au virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) et […]

Pas de commentaire

(English) Adequately funding Canada’s federal HIV strategy

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Canadien.

Pas de commentaire

Élections 2015 : Financer la Stratégie fédérale sur le VIH/sida — Réponses des principaux partis fédéraux du Canada

Cet article de blogue est le quatrième d’une série publiée par le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida avant l’élection du 19 octobre 2015.  Nous avons récemment envoyé aux cinq principaux partis fédéraux un questionnaire pour connaître leur position sur des questions clés liées au VIH et aux droits humains. Quatre partis sur cinq nous ont répondu. […]

Pas de commentaire

Lettre au ministre fédéral des Finances James M. Flaherty – Objet : l’accès universel aux moyens de prévention, de soins et de traitements liés au VIH, d’ici 2010

« Lors du Sommet de Gleneagles en juillet 2005, les dirigeants du G8 ont promis d’élaborer et de mettre en oeuvre un plan pour la prévention, les soins et les traitements anti-VIH, dans le but de s’approcher le plus possible, d’ici 2010, de l’accès universel aux traitements pour tous ceux qui en ont besoin. Le […]

Pas de commentaire

Une politique publique qui coûte des vies : l’échec du gouvernement canadien À  financer adéquatement la lutte contre le VIH/sida – Notes de discours

Pas de commentaire