STATEMENT: Legal and civil society groups commend City of Vancouver’s leadership on drug decriminalization

Legal and civil society groups commend

City of Vancouver’s leadership on drug decriminalization

As the opioid overdose crisis devastates communities across Canada,

groups hope that other jurisdictions will follow suit

 

November 18, 2020

Vancouver, Coast Salish TerritoriesToday, the Mayor of Vancouver, supported by Vancouver Coastal Health, announced a motion that could lead to the decriminalization of simple drug possession in Vancouver. If the motion is passed, Vancouver City Council will request an exemption from the federal government — under the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act — that would protect all people in Vancouver from the enforcement of simple drug possession as a criminal offence. If implemented properly, this could eliminate all criminal consequences for possessing drugs for personal use. Decriminalization would be a critical move towards addressing record overdose deaths and rampant stigma against people who use drugs, reducing barriers to accessing services, and avoiding ineffective and unnecessary use of public funds.

In May, Pivot Legal Society, the Canadian Drug Policy Coalition (CDPC), and the HIV Legal Network called on the federal government to use this same exemption power to decriminalize simple drug possession. To date, more than 170 civil society organizations have endorsed this call. Following their October release of a report on drug decriminalization in Vancouver, Pivot launched an email petition urging Vancouver’s Mayor and Council to apply for a local exemption and take more meaningful action than simply calling on other levels of government to do the right thing. Last week, the HIV Legal Network released a primer for municipal and provincial governments on why and how to request an exemption from the federal Health Minister to effectively decriminalize simple drug possession.

READ: The City of Vancouver announcement on decriminalization

Pivot, CDPC, and the HIV Legal Network welcome Vancouver’s leadership in seeking to curb an ineffective and deadly war on people who use drugs. We urge City Councillors to quickly and unequivocally adopt the proposed motion as presented, without proposing administrative sanctions or other amendments that would weaken its positive outcomes. In addition, we urge cities and provinces across the country to take similar action. Inaction will only lead to more preventable deaths and infections.

Caitlin Shane, Drug Policy Staff Lawyer at Pivot Legal Society, says all municipalities and provinces must urgently tackle the drug policy crisis ravaging communities across the country:

“Overdose fatalities have ballooned during COVID-19, far surpassing the number of fatalities caused by the coronavirus itself. Criminalizing people who use drugs is a public health disaster that causes untold harms to poor and racialized communities. Decriminalization is a key step towards reducing over-policing and rampant incarceration, and re-allocating funds to health, harm reduction, and safe supply efforts.”

READ: Pivot Legal Society’s Report: Act Now! Decriminalizing Drugs in Vancouver

Scott Bernstein, Director of Policy at CDPC, calls the announcement bold and necessary:

“A growing chorus of civil society and rights organizations, the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, public health officers, and people who use drugs across the country have decried the failure of drug prohibition and significant harms caused by treating a public health crisis as a criminal law issue. We are pleased that Vancouver is heeding these calls.”

Sandra Ka Hon Chu, Director of Research and Advocacy at the HIV Legal Network, urges other cities, provinces, and territories to follow Vancouver’s lead and apply for a similar exemption:

“Policymakers have a responsibility to adopt measures that uphold the health and safety of people who use drugs in their respective jurisdictions. Requesting an exemption from the federal Minister of Health is simple and vital. Municipal and provincial actors can take concrete actions now to move from harmful, failed criminalization to evidence-based public health approaches that respect human rights.”

READ: HIV Legal Network’s Report: Decriminalizing People Who Use Drugs: A Primer for Municipal and Provincial Governments 

-30-

Media Contacts

Sozan Savehilaghi, Pivot Legal Society
Email: sozan@pivotlegal.org
Direct: 604-255-9700 ext. 154

Peter Kim, Canadian Drug Policy Coalition
Email: peter_k@sfu.ca
Direct: 604-787-4043

Janet Butler-McPhee, HIV Legal Network
Email: jbutler@aidslaw.ca
Direct: 647-295-0861

Background information & Documents

Letter to Canadian Government: Decriminalize Simple Drug Possession Immediately
May 13, 2020 | Updated September 21, 2020

Open letter signed by over 170 civil society organizations calling for a the Canadian government to decriminalize drug possession via exemption: http://www.hivlegalnetwork.ca/site/letter-to-canadian-government-decriminalize-simple-drug-possession-immediately/?lang=en

Pivot Legal Society Report: Act Now! Decriminalizing Drugs in Vancouver
September 16, 2020

Technical report urging the City of Vancouver to apply for a federal exemption to ensure local decriminalization: https://www.pivotlegal.org/act_now_decriminalizing_drugs_in_vancouver

Pivot Email Petition: It’s time to decriminalize drug possession in Vancouver!
October 17, 2020

Petitions submitted by over 1300 people to Vancouver Mayor and Council urging the City to apply for a federal application to ensure local decriminalization.
https://www.pivotlegal.org/drug_decriminalization_in_vancouver

HIV Legal Network: Decriminalizing People Who Use Drugs: A Primer for Municipal and Provincial Governments
November 12, 2020

Report detailing actions that municipal and provincial governments can take to decriminalize drug possession in their jurisdictions: http://www.hivlegalnetwork.ca/site/decriminalizing-people-who-use-drugs-a-primer-for-municipal-and-provincial-governments/?lang=en

About Pivot Legal Society

Pivot Legal Society is a leading Canadian human rights organization that uses the law to address the root causes of poverty and social exclusion in Canada. Pivot’s work includes challenging laws and policies that force people to the margins of society and keep them there. Since 2002 Pivot has won major victories for sex workers’ rights, police accountability, affordable housing, and health and drug policy. http://www.pivotlegal.org/our_story

About Canadian Drug Policy Coalition

The Canadian Drug Policy Coalition (CDPC) is a coalition of over 50 organizations and 4,000 individuals working to support the development of progressive drug policy grounded in science, guided by public health principles, and respectful of human rights. CDPC operates as a project within Simon Fraser University Faculty of Health Sciences. CDPC seeks to include people who use drugs and those harmed by the war on drugs in moving toward a healthier Canadian society free of stigma and social exclusion. https://drugpolicy.ca/

About HIV Legal Network

The HIV Legal Network, formerly the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network, promotes the human rights of people living with, at risk of or affected by HIV or AIDS, in Canada and internationally, through research and analysis, litigation and other advocacy, public education and community mobilization. http://www.hivlegalnetwork.ca/

This entry was posted in Drug policy, English, French, News, Pub Document Type and tagged . Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Language

DÉCLARATION : Des groupes juridiques et de la société civile félicitent la Ville de Vancouver pour son leadership en matière de décriminalisation des drogues

Des groupes juridiques et de la société civile félicitent
la Ville de Vancouver pour son leadership en matière de décriminalisation des drogues

Alors que la crise des surdoses d’opioïdes dévaste des communautés à travers le Canada,

les groupes espèrent que d’autres juridictions suivront

18 novembre 2020

Vancouver, territoires des Salishes de la côteAujourd’hui, le maire de Vancouver, appuyé par la régie régionale de la santé Vancouver Coastal Health, a annoncé une motion qui pourrait décriminaliser la simple possession de drogues à Vancouver. Si la motion est adoptée, le conseil municipal de Vancouver demandera au gouvernement fédéral une exemption – en vertu de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances – qui protégerait toutes les personnes, à Vancouver, contre l’application de l’article criminel relatif à la simple possession de drogues. Mise en œuvre adéquatement, cette mesure pourrait éliminer toutes les conséquences de droit pénal pour la possession de drogues pour consommation personnelle. La décriminalisation serait un tournant crucial pour répondre au nombre record de décès par surdose ainsi qu’à la stigmatisation répandue des personnes qui consomment des drogues, en réduisant les obstacles à l’accès aux services et en évitant une utilisation injustifiée et inefficace des fonds publics.

En mai, la Pivot Legal Society, la Coalition canadienne des politiques sur les drogues (CCPD) et le Réseau juridique VIH ont demandé au gouvernement fédéral d’utiliser ce même pouvoir d’exemption pour décriminaliser la simple possession de drogues. Plus de 170 organismes de la société civile se sont joints jusqu’ici à cet appel. La Pivot Legal Society, après avoir publié en octobre un rapport sur la décriminalisation des drogues à Vancouver, a lancé une pétition par courriel exhortant le maire et le conseil municipal de Vancouver à demander une exemption locale et à poser des gestes plus adéquats que de simplement appeler les autres niveaux de gouvernement à faire ce qui est juste. La semaine dernière, le Réseau juridique VIH a publié un guide à l’intention des gouvernements municipaux et provinciaux sur les raisons et les modalités pour demander à la ministre fédérale de la Santé une exemption décriminalisant la simple possession de drogues.

LIRE : L’annonce de la Ville de Vancouver concernant la décriminalisation

Pivot, la CCPD et le Réseau juridique VIH saluent le leadership de la Ville de Vancouver dans sa tentative pour freiner une guerre inefficace et mortelle contre les personnes qui consomment des drogues. Nous prions les conseiller(-ère)s municipaux(-ales) d’adopter rapidement et sans équivoque la motion proposée, telle que formulée, sans proposer de sanctions administratives ou d’autres amendements qui réduiraient ses conséquences positives. De plus, nous exhortons les villes et les provinces d’un bout à l’autre du pays à adopter la même mesure. L’inaction ne ferait qu’entraîner d’autres décès et infections évitables.

Caitlin Shane, avocate en politiques sur les drogues à la Pivot Legal Society, indique que toutes les municipalités et provinces doivent s’attaquer urgemment à la crise des politiques sur les drogues, qui fait des ravages dans les communautés à l’échelle du pays :

« Le nombre de décès par surdose a explosé au cours de la COVID-19, dépassant de loin le nombre de décès causés par le coronavirus. La criminalisation des personnes qui consomment des drogues est un désastre de santé publique qui cause des préjudices énormes aux communautés pauvres et racisées. La décriminalisation est une étape clé pour réduire l’implication policière excessive et l’incarcération agressive, et pour réaffecter des fonds aux efforts pour la santé, la réduction des méfaits et l’approvisionnement sûr. »

LIRE : le rapport de Pivot Legal Society : Act Now! Decriminalizing Drugs in Vancouver

Scott Bernstein, directeur des politiques à la CCPD, qualifie l’annonce d’ambitieuse et de justifiée :

« Un nombre croissant d’organismes de la société civile et de défense des droits, de même que l’Association canadienne des chefs de police, les responsables de la santé publique et les personnes qui consomment des drogues, dans tout le pays, dénoncent l’échec de la prohibition des drogues et les préjudices importants qui découlent du fait de traiter une crise de santé publique comme une question de droit pénal. Nous sommes heureux que Vancouver réponde à ces appels. »

Sandra Ka Hon Chu, directrice de la recherche et du plaidoyer au Réseau juridique VIH, incite les villes, provinces et territoires à suivre l’exemple de Vancouver et à faire une demande d’exemption similaire :

« Les responsables des politiques ont la responsabilité d’adopter des mesures qui protègent la santé et la sécurité des personnes qui consomment des drogues sur leurs territoires respectifs. Demander une exemption à la ministre fédérale de la Santé est simple – et c’est essentiel. Les acteurs municipaux et provinciaux peuvent poser des gestes concrets dès maintenant pour délaisser la criminalisation néfaste et ratée, au profit d’approches de santé publique fondées sur des données probantes et respectant les droits humains. »

LIRE : le rapport du Réseau juridique VIH, Decriminalizing People Who Use Drugs: A Primer for Municipal and Provincial Governments 

-30-

Contacts pour les médias

Sozan Savehilaghi, Pivot Legal Society
Courriel :
sozan@pivotlegal.org / Tél. direct : 604-255-9700 (poste 154)

Peter Kim, Coalition canadienne des politiques sur les drogues
Courriel :
peter_k@sfu.ca / Tél. direct : 604-787-4043

Janet Butler-McPhee, Réseau juridique VIH
Courriel :
jbutler@aidslaw.ca / Tél. direct : 647-295-0861

information DE BASE ET Documents

Lettre au gouvernement canadien : décriminalisons immédiatement la possession de drogues pour un usage personnel (13/05/2020 | mis à jour le 21/09/2020)
Lettre ouverte signée par plus de 170 organismes de la société civile, demandant au Gouvernement du Canada de décriminaliser par exemption la possession de drogues :
http://www.hivlegalnetwork.ca/site/letter-to-canadian-government-decriminalize-simple-drug-possession-immediately/?lang=fr

Rapport de la Pivot Legal Society Report : Act Now! Decriminalizing Drugs in Vancouver  (16/09/2020)
Rapport technique incitant la Ville de Vancouver à faire une demande d’exemption fédérale pour une décriminalisation à l’échelon local :
https://www.pivotlegal.org/act_now_decriminalizing_drugs_in_vancouver

Pétition-courriel de Pivot : It’s time to decriminalize drug possession in Vancouver! (17/10/2020)
Pétition signée par plus de 1 300 personnes, à l’intention du maire et du conseil municipal de Vancouver, exhortant la Ville à faire une demande au fédéral pour assurer la décriminalisation à l’échelon local.
https://www.pivotlegal.org/drug_decriminalization_in_vancouver

Réseau juridique VIH : Decriminalizing People Who Use Drugs: A Primer for Municipal and Provincial Governments (12/11/2020) [Traduction à paraître incessamment : Décriminalisation des personnes qui consomment des drogues : document d’information pour les gouvernements municipaux et provinciaux]
Rapport détaillé sur les actions que peuvent poser les gouvernements municipaux et provinciaux afin de décriminaliser la possession de drogues sur leur territoire :
http://www.hivlegalnetwork.ca/site/decriminalizing-people-who-use-drugs-a-primer-for-municipal-and-provincial-governments/?lang=en


À propos de la Pivot Legal Society

La Pivot Legal Society est un éminent organisme canadien de défense des droits humains qui utilise le droit pour répondre aux causes profondes de la pauvreté et de l’exclusion sociale au Canada. Son travail consiste notamment à contester les lois et les politiques qui poussent des personnes en marge de la société et les y maintiennent. Depuis 2002, Pivot a remporté d’importantes victoires en matière de droits des travailleuse(-eur)s du sexe, de responsabilité de la police, de logement abordable et de politiques sur la santé et les drogues. http://www.pivotlegal.org/our_story


À propos de la Coalition canadienne des politiques sur les drogues

La Coalition canadienne des politiques sur les drogues (CCPD) représente 50 organismes et 4 000 individus qui s’efforcent de soutenir l’élaboration de politiques progressistes en matière de drogues, fondées sur la science, guidées par des principes de santé publique et respectueuses des droits de la personne. La CCPD fonctionne en tant que projet au sein de la Faculté des sciences de la santé de l’Université Simon Fraser. Elle cherche à inclure les personnes qui consomment des drogues et qui ont subi des préjudices de la guerre aux drogues dans la quête d’une société canadienne plus saine, exempte de stigmatisation et d’exclusion sociale. https://drugpolicy.ca/


À propos du Réseau juridique VIH

Le Réseau juridique VIH, autrefois le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida, fait valoir les droits humains des personnes vivant avec le VIH ou le sida et de celles qui sont à risque ou affectées autrement, au Canada et dans le monde, à l’aide de recherches et d’analyses, d’actions en contentieux et d’autres formes de plaidoyer, d’éducation du public et de mobilisation communautaire. http://www.hivlegalnetwork.ca/

Cet article a été publié dans Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, News, Pub Document Type avec les mots-clefs . Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Langue