Janet Butler-McPhee

Janet

Co-Executive Director 

Janet joined the Legal Network staff in December 2010. She became Co-Executive Director in July 2021.

Janet is responsible for the Legal Network’s effective overall operation and implementing the organization’s mandate. She advises and supports the Board of Directors, especially in formulating strategic directions and organizational plans, and developing policy. She also guides the organization’s fundraising efforts.

Janet also manages the Communications and Development Team, including all strategic communications programming and work plans. She has authored publications for diverse audiences on many of the Legal Network’s issues, and oversees all public-facing communications for the organization. She works closely with the Research and Policy Team to coordinate joint advocacy interventions, and is also responsible for media relations, event planning and brand management, among others. She was also co-producer on the Legal Network’s documentaries, Positive Women: Exposing Injustice and Consent: HIV Non-Disclosure and Sexual Assault Law, and executive producer on Decriminalize Now: Akia’s Story, among others.

Previously, she worked as the Communications Director for the Reproductive Health Access, Information, and Services in Emergencies (RAISE) Initiative and the Averting Maternal Death and Disability Program, both multi-level international programs at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health in New York City. Her work focused on public health advocacy and behaviour change communications in support of reproductive rights and health care in development and humanitarian contexts.

Prior to living and working in New York, Janet held progressive communications positions within Environment Canada, most recently serving as a National Director of Communications, based in Ottawa.

Janet holds a First Class Honours Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Saint Francis Xavier University, a Post Baccalaureate Diploma in Communication from Simon Fraser University and an Honours Master of Science degree in Strategic Communications from Columbia University. She currently serves on the Board of Directors for Regent Park Community Health Centre and Results Canada.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Janet Butler-McPhee

Janet

Co-directrice générale

Janet s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique en décembre 2010. Elle en est devenue co-directrice générale en juillet 2021.

Janet est responsable du bon fonctionnement général du Réseau juridique et de la mise en œuvre de son mandat. Elle conseille et soutient le conseil d’administration, notamment dans l’élaboration d’orientations stratégiques, de plans organisationnels et de politiques. Elle guide également les efforts de collecte de fonds de l’organisme.

Janet gère l’Équipe des communications et du développement, y compris tous les programmes et plans de communications stratégiques. Auteure de publications sur plusieurs enjeux du Réseau juridique pour des auditoires diversifiés, elle supervise l’ensemble des communications publiques de l’organisme. Elle collabore étroitement avec l’Équipe de la recherche et des politiques à coordonner des interventions de plaidoyer conjoint, en plus de s’occuper des relations médiatiques, de la planification d’événements et de la gestion de la marque, entre autres. Elle a coproduit les films documentaires du Réseau juridique Femmes et séropositives : Dénonçons l’injustice et Consentement : La non-divulgation du VIH et la loi sur l’agression sexuelle, et est notamment productrice exécutive de la vidéo Décriminaliser dès maintenant : l’histoire d’Akia.

Son parcours antérieur a inclus le poste de directrice des communications pour l’initiative Reproductive Health Access, Information, and Services in Emergencies (RAISE) et pour le programme Averting Maternal Death and Disability [Éviter les décès et invalidités maternels], deux programmes internationaux multiniveaux à la Mailman School of Public Health de l’Université Columbia, à New York. Son travail concernait le plaidoyer pour la santé publique et les communications en matière de changement comportemental, à l’appui des droits génésiques et des soins de santé dans le contexte du développement et de l’aide humanitaire.

Avant cet épisode à New York, Janet a rempli des fonctions progressistes, aux communications pour Environnement Canada, culminant dans le poste de directrice nationale des communications, à Ottawa.

Elle détient un baccalauréat en Arts avec mention très honorable en études anglaises, de l’Université Saint Francis Xavier, un diplôme post-baccalauréat en Communications de l’Université Simon Fraser, et une maîtrise en Science avec distinction, spécialité communications stratégiques, de l’Université Columbia. Elle siège aux conseils d’administration du Regent Park Community Health Centre et de Résultats Canada.

Cet article a été publié dans Uncategorized. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.