HUMAN RIGHTS GROUPS FILE LEGAL CHALLENGE CITING CANADA’S FAILURE TO PROTECT PRISONERS’ HEALTH IN THE CONTEXT OF COVID-19

On May 12, 2020, the Canadian Civil Liberties Association (CCLA), HIV Legal Network, Canadian Prison Law Association (CPLA), HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO), and current federal prisoner Sean Johnston filed a constitutional and human rights challenge against the Government of Canada, to compel it to take proactive steps to ensure prisoners’ safety in the context of COVID-19. This includes the timely release of federal prisoners, with precedence for those who are particularly vulnerable to COVID-19 due to age or underlying health conditions.

Correctional Service Canada (CSC) has a legal duty to take all reasonable steps to provide a safe environment for prisoners. While public health authorities in Canada direct physical distancing to reduce the spread of the virus, physical distancing cannot be achieved in prisons without reducing the prison population.

For almost three decades, the HIV Legal Network has been advocating for prisoners’ rights, and particularly their right to health. Because of the crowded nature of the penitentiary environment and inadequate access to hand hygiene and cleaning supplies as well as personal protective equipment, federal prisoners are at greater risk of contracting COVID-19, and also at greater risk of suffering severe adverse outcomes if they are infected. We know that the prevalence of health conditions, including HIV and HCV infection, is higher amongst our prison population. Acquiring COVID-19 is effectively a death sentence for some prisoners, and CSC’s complacency cannot stand.

Please watch this space for further updates on our legal challenge.

 

See our media release here. 

 

Download Application Record (Vol. 1)

Download Application Record (Vol. 2)

Download Application Record (Vol. 3)

Download Application Record (Vol. 4)

Download Application Record (Vol. 5)

Download AMENDED MOTION RECORD (Mandatory Interlocutory Injunction)

This entry was posted in Our Work, Prisons. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

DES GROUPES DE DÉFENSE DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE SAISISSENT LA JUSTICE EN INVOQUANT L’INCAPACITÉ DU GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA À PROTÉGER LA SANTÉ DES PRISONNIERS DANS LE CONTEXTE DE LA COVID-19

Le 12 mai 2020, l’Association canadienne des libertés civiles (ACLC), le Réseau juridique VIH, la Canadian Prison Law Association (CPLA), la HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) ainsi que Sean Johnston, un détenu actuellement incarcéré dans un établissement carcéral fédéral, ont saisi la justice pour violation des droits de la personne et lancé une contestation constitutionnelle à l’encontre du gouvernement du Canada, afin d’obliger ce dernier à prendre des mesures proactives pour assurer la sécurité des prisonniers dans le cadre de la COVID-19. Les mesures exigées comprennent la libération en temps et en heure des prisonniers fédéraux, en accordant la priorité aux personnes particulièrement vulnérables à la COVID-19 en raison de leur âge ou de leur état de santé.

Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) a l’obligation légale de prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour fournir un environnement sûr aux détenus. Alors que les autorités sanitaires canadiennes préconisent l’éloignement physique pour réduire la propagation du virus, l’éloignement sanitaire dans les prisons passe obligatoirement par la réduction de la population carcérale.

Depuis près de trente ans, le Réseau juridique VIH défend les droits des prisonniers, en particulier leur droit à la santé. En raison de la nature surpeuplée de l’environnement carcéral et de l’accès inadéquat aux fournitures d’hygiène des mains et de nettoyage ainsi qu’aux équipements de protection individuelle, les prisonniers fédéraux ont un risque accru de contracter la COVID-19 et de subir des conséquences négatives sévères dues à l’infection. Nous savons que la prévalence de problèmes de santé, y compris l’infection par le VIH et le VHC, est plus élevée dans notre population carcérale. L’acquisition de la COVID-19 est effectivement une condamnation à mort pour certains prisonniers, et la complaisance du SCC ne saurait être tolérée.

Visitez périodiquement cet espace pour d’autres mises à jour sur notre contestation juridique.

 

[Files in English only / fichiers en anglais]

See our media release here. 

 

Download Application Record (Vol. 1)

Download Application Record (Vol. 2)

Download Application Record (Vol. 3)

Download Application Record (Vol. 4)

Download Application Record (Vol. 5)

Download AMENDED MOTION RECORD (Mandatory Interlocutory Injunction)

Cet article a été publié dans Our Work, Prisons. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.