Drug Policy

Overview

In Canada and other countries, drug use and dependence are treated largely as criminal law concerns — and people who use drugs are vilified and subjected to routine and often horrific human rights abuses.

Yet extensive evidence shows that doing the reverse would be more productive. The overreliance on criminal law enforcement (a.k.a. “the war on drugs”) is not only ineffective, it is hugely wasteful, carrying enormous financial costs and taking a terrible human toll on people who use drugs and their families and loved ones. Furthermore, criminalizing and incarcerating people for drug use, and denying access to effective health services, only fuels the spread of infections such as HIV and hepatitis C (HCV). Instead, all available evidence indicates that protecting and promoting the human rights of people who use drugs is necessary and effective in upholding their human rights, including their right to health.

We’re committed to reducing the harms caused by harsh, misguided drug laws. Instead of prohibition and punishment, drug policy must be grounded in sound  evidence, and in the principle of the universality of human rights — rights to which all people are equally entitled, including people who use drugs.

We advocate for:

  • increased access to harm reduction and other evidence-based health services, such as needle and syringe programs, supervised consumption and overdose prevention services, a safe, regulated drug supply, and drug dependence treatment;
  • criminal legal system reforms that respect the human rights and promote the health of people who use drugs and reduce their chances of incarceration, with a focus on the impacts of such reforms on Black, Indigenous and other racialized communities;
  • drug policy that is evidence-informed, human rights–based, culturally appropriate and gender-sensitive; and
  • international standards on drug policy, including harm reduction and drug dependence treatment, that are consistent with human rights norms.

Harm Reduction Advocacy Guide

What is the drug poisoning crisis and what are supervised consumption services?

Canada is now fully immersed in a drug poisoning crisis — fueled by a contaminated drug supply — that is killing at an alarming rate. From 2016 to 2021, more than 29,052 people have died. In 2021 there were approximately 21 drug poisoning deaths in Canada every day — and it’s not getting any better.

Watch Decriminalize Now: Akia’s Story, a short first-person narrative film about the drug poisoning crisis — and daring to dream of a better future for people who use drugs. We can get there by rethinking repressive drug policy, in Canada and beyond.

Learn more:

PublicationsNews

POINTS OF PERSPECTIVE: RESEARCH REPORT ON THE FEDERAL PRISON NEEDLE EXCHANGE PROGRAM IN CANADA

Despite ample empirical evidence demonstrating the effectiveness of needle and syringe programs, the federal Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) refused for decades to implement this essential prison harm reduction program. After years of inaction, in 2012 the HIV Legal Network along with Steve Simons, a man formerly incarcerated in a federal prison, and three HIV … Read more

Legal Network News – November 1, 2022

Introducing Our New Podcast: Not a Crime Today, on International Drug Users Day, we will begin sharing stories of criminalization from around the world through our new podcast, Not a Crime. Featuring interviews with our policy analysts along with people working farther afield, Not a Crime will highlight the impact of criminalization on people living … Read more

Rights Within Reach: Strategic Plan 2022-2027

The HIV Legal Network promotes the human rights of people living with HIV or AIDS and other populations disproportionately affected by HIV and criminalization, in Canada and internationally. In 2021, we undertook a planning process that would shape the strategic goals and priorities for the organization’s next five years (2022-2027). To do this, we sought … Read more

Rights Within Reach: Strategic Plan 2022-2027, Executive Summary

In 2021, the HIV Legal Network undertook a planning process that would shape the strategic goals and priorities for the organization’s next five years (2022-2027). To do this, we sought the input of a broad range of stakeholders, from partner organizations to people living with and affected by HIV and criminalization, to staff. All identified … Read more

Provider-Assisted Injection in Ontario’s Supervised Consumption Services: Frequently Asked Questions

Supervised consumption services (SCS) are an effective intervention to reduce the harms associated with drug prohibition and a toxic drug supply. SCS increase access to health care, promote safer consumption, and prevent overdoses and other health complications. An SCS may support multiple forms of drug consumption, including consumption by injection, inhalation (smoking), oral, and intranasal … Read more

Search all publications

IT’S TIME FOR DRUG DECRIMINALIZATION – DONE RIGHT – NOW

With no time for half-measures, Canada needs full decriminalization nation-wide, led by lived experience and evidence Monday, January 30, 2023 — This week, we are watching with great interest as the possession of some drugs in small amounts will finally be decriminalized in the Province of British Columbia. While in theory a positive step forward … Read more

WORLD AIDS DAY 2022: IT’S TIME TO EQUALIZE, IN CANADA AND BEYOND

November 30, 2022 — Today, the HIV Legal Network marks World AIDS Day by joining with the United Nations (UN) in a call to governments around the world to reform laws, policies, and practices that create and exacerbate the stigma faced by people living with HIV. With this year’s theme being “Equalize,” we are focused … Read more

POINTS OF PERSPECTIVE: NEW REPORT ON NORTH AMERICA’S FIRST-EVER PRISON NEEDLE EXCHANGE PROGRAM (IN CANADA) SHOWS CRITICAL LIMITATIONS AND CHALLENGES

November 29, 2022 — Today, researchers at the HIV Legal Network and Toronto Metropolitan University have released Points of Perspective, the very first national independent study of Canada’s “Prison Needle Exchange Program” (PNEP). It is based on interviews with people formerly incarcerated in federal prisons across the country and provides an overview of the PNEP … Read more

MEDIA STATEMENT: A RENEWED CALL FOR DRUG DECRIMINALIZATION ON INTERNATIONAL OVERDOSE AWARENESS DAY (IOAD) 2022

A RENEWED CALL FOR DRUG DECRIMINALIZATION ON INTERNATIONAL OVERDOSE AWARENESS DAY (IOAD) 2022 For immediate release August 31st, 2022 — Toronto — On International Overdose Awareness Day (IOAD), the HIV Legal Network remembers the lives of our friends, family, and community members who have been taken too soon due to the drug poisoning crisis. We … Read more

MEDIA STATEMENT: “WE NEED DECRIMINALIZATION FOR ALL”: DRUG POLICY & HUMAN RIGHTS ORGANIZATIONS SAY MODEL IN BRITISH COLUMBIA LEAVES MANY BEHIND

“WE NEED DECRIMINALIZATION FOR ALL”: DRUG POLICY & HUMAN RIGHTS ORGANIZATIONS SAY MODEL IN BRITISH COLUMBIA LEAVES MANY BEHIND Health Canada’s landmark approval of “decriminalization” for B.C. raises concerns that many people who use drugs remain criminalized For immediate release June 1, 2022 – A growing group of drug policy and human rights organizations across Canada — comprising … Read more

Search all news articles

Politiques sur les drogues

Aperçu

Au Canada et dans d’autres pays, l’utilisation de drogues et la dépendance à son égard sont généralement abordées comme des préoccupations de droit pénal et les personnes qui utilisent des drogues sont dénigrées et sont l’objet de violations, souvent horribles, de leurs droits humains.

Or un vaste corpus de données démontre que l’approche inverse serait plus utile. L’application excessive du droit pénal (aussi appelée « guerre à la drogue ») est non seulement inefficace, mais entraîne un gaspillage et des coûts financiers énormes en plus d’avoir de lourdes conséquences sur les personnes qui utilisent des drogues, leurs familles et leurs proches. Par ailleurs, le fait de criminaliser et d’incarcérer des individus parce qu’ils utilisent des drogues, et de leur refuser des services de santé efficaces, ne fait qu’alimenter la propagation d’infections comme le VIH et le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC). En revanche, toutes les données disponibles indiquent que la protection et la promotion des droits humains des personnes qui utilisent des drogues, y compris leur droit à la santé, sont des mesures à la fois nécessaires et efficaces.

Nous sommes engagé-es à réduire les préjudices associés aux lois sévères et malavisées en matière de drogues. Au lieu de la prohibition et du châtiment, les politiques sur les drogues doivent être fondées sur de solides données et sur le principe de l’universalité des droits humains – auxquels tous les individus ont un droit égal, y compris les personnes qui utilisent des drogues.

Nous militons pour :

  • un accès accru à la réduction des méfaits et à d’autres services de santé fondés sur des données probantes, comme les programmes de seringues, les services de consommation supervisée et de prévention des surdoses, un approvisionnement en drogues sûr et réglementé et le traitement de la dépendance;
  • des réformes du système de justice pénale pour respecter les droits humains, promouvoir la santé des personnes qui utilisent des drogues et réduire leur risque d’être incarcérées, avec un point de mire sur l’impact de ces réformes sur les communautés noires, autochtones et racisées;
  • des politiques sur les drogues qui soient fondées sur des données probantes et sur les droits humains, culturellement appropriées et sensibles au genre; et
  • des normes internationales en matière de politiques sur les drogues, y compris la réduction des méfaits et le traitement de la dépendance, qui soient conformes aux normes des droits humains.

Guide de plaidoyer pour la réduction des méfaits

Qu’est-ce que la crise d’empoisonnement par des drogues et en quoi consistent les services de consommation supervisée?

Le Canada est en pleine crise d’empoisonnement par des drogues – alimentée par un approvisionnement en drogues contaminé – qui tue à un rythme alarmant. De 2016 à 2021, plus de 29 052 personnes sont décédées. En 2021, le Canada recensait environ 21 décès par jour liés à l’empoisonnement par des drogues – et la situation ne va pas en s’améliorant.

Regardez Décriminaliser dès maintenant : l’histoire d’Akia, un court métrage narratif à la première personne sur la crise de l’empoisonnement par la drogue – et sur le fait d’oser rêver d’un avenir meilleur pour les personnes qui utilisent des drogues. Nous pouvons y parvenir en repensant la politique répressive en matière de drogues, au Canada et ailleurs.

En savoir plus :

PublicationsCommuniqués

POINTS DE VUE: RAPPORT DE RECHERCHE SUR LE PROGRAMME FÉDÉRAL D’ÉCHANGE DE SERINGUES EN PRISON AU CANADA

Malgré les nombreuses preuves empiriques démontrant l’efficacité des programmes d’échange de seringues, le Service correctionnel fédéral du Canada (SCC) a refusé pendant des décennies de mettre en oeuvre ce programme essentiel de réduction des méfaits en prison. Après des années d’inaction, en 2012, le Réseau juridique VIH ainsi que Steve Simons, un ancien détenu d’une … Lire plus

Nouvelles du Réseau Juridique – 1 novembre 2022

Découvrez notre nouvelle baladodiffusion : « Pas un crime » Aujourd’hui, pour célébrer la Journée internationale des personnes qui utilisent des drogues, nous commençons à partager des histoires sur la criminalisation à travers le monde, dans une nouvelle balado intitulée « Pas un crime ». Dans le cadre d’entretiens avec nos analystes des politiques et des intervenant-es … Lire plus

(English) Rights Within Reach: Strategic Plan 2022-2027

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Canadien.

Tout près de nos droits : PLAN STRATÉGIQUE 2022-2027 DU RÉSEAU JURIDIQUE VIH, résumé

En 2021, nous avons amorcé un processus de planification afin d’établir nos objectifs et priorités stratégiques des cinq prochaines années (2022-2027). Pour ce faire, nous avons sollicité l’apport d’un large éventail de dépositaires d’enjeux – notamment des organismes partenaires, des personnes vivant avec le VIH et affectées par la criminalisation et des membres de notre … Lire plus

L’injection assistée par un-e prestataire dans les services de consommation supervisée en Ontario : FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS

Les services de consommation supervisée (SCS) sont une intervention efficace pour réduire des méfaits associés à la prohibition des drogues et à l’approvisionnement en drogues toxiques. Ils améliorent l’accès aux soins de santé, favorisent une consommation plus sûre et préviennent des surdoses et d’autres complications de santé. Un SCS peut prendre en charge divers modes … Lire plus

Chercher dans tous les documents

IL EST TEMPS DE RÉUSSIR LA DÉCRIMINALISATION – MAINTENANT

Pas de temps pour les demi-mesures : il faut une décriminalisation complète à l’échelle nationale, au Canada, dirigée par l’expérience vécue et les données Lundi 30 janvier 2023 – Cette semaine, nous surveillons avec grand intérêt la décriminalisation en Colombie-Britannique de la possession de certaines drogues en petites quantités. Il s’agit en théorie d’une étape positive pour mettre fin … Lire plus

JOURNÉE MONDIALE DU SIDA DE 2022: ÉGALITÉ MAINTENANT, AU CANADA ET AU-DELÀ

30 novembre 2022 – Aujourd’hui, le Réseau juridique VIH marque la Journée mondiale du sida en se joignant aux Nations Unies (ONU) pour appeler les gouvernements du monde entier à réformer les lois, politiques et pratiques qui engendrent et exacerbent la stigmatisation des personnes vivant avec le VIH. Le thème de cette année, « Égalité maintenant », nous … Lire plus

POINTS DE VUE : UN NOUVEAU RAPPORT SUR LE TOUT PREMIER PROGRAMME NORD-AMÉRICAIN D’ÉCHANGE DE SERINGUES EN PRISON (AU CANADA) SOULIGNE DES LIMITES ET DES DÉFIS CRITIQUES

29 novembre 2022 – Des chercheuses du Réseau juridique VIH et de la Toronto Metropolitan University ont dévoilé aujourd’hui Points de vue, la toute première étude nationale indépendante sur le « Programme d’échange de seringues en prison » (PÉSP) du Canada. Leur recherche, basée sur des entretiens avec des personnes qui ont été incarcérées dans des prisons fédérales … Lire plus

DÉCLARATION AUX MÉDIAS : APPEL RENOUVELÉ À LA DÉCRIMINALISATION DES DROGUES (JOURNÉE INTERNATIONALE 2022 DE SENSIBILISATION AUX SURDOSES)

APPEL RENOUVELÉ À LA DÉCRIMINALISATION DES DROGUES (JOURNÉE INTERNATIONALE 2022 DE SENSIBILISATION AUX SURDOSES) Pour publication immédiate 31 août 2022 — Toronto — En cette Journée internationale de sensibilisation aux surdoses, le Réseau juridique VIH se souvient des vies d’ami-es, de proches et de membres de la communauté que la crise de l’empoisonnement par la drogue a emportées … Lire plus

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE : LES ORGANISATIONS DE DÉFENSE DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE ET DES POLITIQUES EN MATIÈRE DE DROGUES DÉCLARENT QUE LE MODÈLE EN COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE EXCLUT DE NOMBREUSES PERSONNES

« IL FAUT DÉCRIMINALISER LA POSSESSION DE DROGUES POUR TOUTES LES PERSONNES QUI CONSOMMENT » : LES ORGANISATIONS DE DÉFENSE DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE ET DES POLITIQUES EN MATIÈRE DE DROGUES DÉCLARENT QUE LE MODÈLE EN COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE EXCLUT DE NOMBREUSES PERSONNES  Alors que Santé Canada vient de faire une annonce historique en faveur de la « décriminalisation » en Colombie-Britannique, … Lire plus

Chercher dans les nouvelles