Meet Our Staff

André Capretti

André Capretti

Since joining the HIV Legal Network staff in October 2022, André has taken on a variety of work on HIV-related human rights issues, including in relation to Indigenous peoples, harm reduction in the prison context, and in different pieces of strategic litigation.

André’s previous experiences include working as a litigator for the federal government, as a public interest articling fellow for Amnesty International Canada, and with a boutique litigation law firm in Montreal. During his studies, André clerked with Quebec’s Human Rights Tribunal and volunteered with various legal clinics, student groups, and research institutes. André also spent summers interning in Phnom Penh, Cambodia with a local human rights NGO and in Geneva, Switzerland with the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Cécile Kazatchkine

Cécile Kazatchkine, (she/her) Senior Policy Analyst

Cécile Kazatchkine has been working with the Legal Network for more than a decade. Previously based in Toronto, Cécile is now back in Paris, France.

Fluent in English and French, Cécile leads our work with HIV Justice Worldwide — a global coalition against HIV criminalization where she supports a Francophone network of activists. Cécile is also deeply engaged in our work with the Global Fund to fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria providing regular technical assistance in West and North Africa on human rights program and HIV. Cécile, who has long experience combatting HIV criminalization in Canada, continues to support advocacy domestically and works on drug policy related issues.

Doriana Schiavi

Doriana Schiavi, (she/her) Finance Manager*

Doriana joined the Legal Network staff in January 2006.

At the Legal Network, Doriana leads the Finance Team. She creates and manages budgets, assisting with applications for funding and preparing financial reports to funders. She also performs the day-to-day tasks required with respect to the Legal Network’s finances.

Dylan DeMarsh

Dylan DeMarsh, (he/him), Digital and Strategic Communications Officer

Dylan joined the HIV Legal Network in June 2022 and is responsible for producing digital media content and supporting other aspects of HIVLN communications activities.

Prior to joining the Legal Network, Dylan worked with PARN-Your Community AIDS Resource Network in Peterborough for 12 years and he has a BA in Journalism from Carleton University and a Public Relations Certificate from Langara College in Vancouver, BC.

Janet Butler-McPhee

Janet Butler-McPhee, (she/her) Co-Executive Director*

Janet joined the Legal Network staff in December 2010. She became Co-Executive Director in July 2021.

Janet is responsible for the Legal Network’s effective overall operation and implementing the organization’s mandate. She advises and supports the Board of Directors, especially in formulating strategic directions and organizational plans, and developing policy. She also guides the organization’s fundraising efforts.

 

Maurice Tomlinson, (he/him) LGBTQ Rights Consultant

Maurice joined the Legal Network staff in February 2015.

At the Legal Network, Maurice acts as counsel and/or claimant in cases challenging anti-gay laws before the most senior tribunals in the Caribbean, authors reports to regional and UN agencies on the human rights situation for LGBTI people in this region, conducts judicial and police LGBTI- and HIV-sensitization trainings, and facilitates human rights documentation and advocacy capacity-building exercises.

Megan Long

Megan Long, (she/her) Communications Specialist

Megan joined the Legal Network in March 2018.

As the Communications Specialist, Megan is the lead writer and editor for all communications materials. She also edits and proofs all reports and policy documents — essentially, nothing leaves Legal Network desks without her eyes on it! Megan believes that words are key tools for changing hearts and minds, which will in turn lead to policy change. Advocacy needs to be compelling and to tell a story, and this is Megan’s strength. She honed her storytelling skills as a fiction editor in her previous career and still turns to novels as an escape from the everyday world of work and parenting. In her off hours, Megan can be found testing out new baking recipes, singing in a choir, or trying to convince her two kids to go for a walk with her along the Toronto boardwalk.

Mikhail Golichenko

Mikhail Golichenko, (he/him) Senior Policy Analyst

Mikhail joined the Legal Network staff in September 2010.

At the Legal Network, Mikhail leads our research and advocacy work in Russian-speaking countries, with a particular focus on drug policy issues. He has been involved extensively in building the capacity of community legal workers in Russia and continues to provide assistance in challenging cases related to drug use and human rights before various regional and international bodies, including the European Court of Human Rights and the UN Human Rights Committee. He has authored several publications on civil litigation issues in Russia.

Richard Elliott

Richard Elliott, (he/him) Consultant

Richard joined the Legal Network staff in January 1999 as Director of Policy and Research, following an 18-month term on its board of directors. He became Deputy Director in 2005 and Executive Director in 2007. Following his departure from the Executive Director role, Richard began working as a consultant, focusing on human rights in the context of HIV.

Sandra Ka Hon Chu

Sandra Ka Hon Chu, (she/her) Co-Executive Director*

Sandra joined the Legal Network staff in September 2007. She became Co-Executive Director in July 2021.

Sandra is responsible for the Legal Network’s effective overall operation and implementing the organization’s mandate. She advises and supports the Board of Directors, especially in formulating strategic directions and organizational plans, and developing policy. She has also helped guide the Legal Network’s litigation in key court cases in Canada and internationally, including lawsuits challenging the Canadian government’s failure to adopt prison-based needle and syringe programs and criminal laws governing sex work.

 

Terry Gould, (he/him) Program Support Manager*

Terry joined the Legal Network staff in October 1998 as an intern. He became the Program Support Manager in May 1999 on a part-time basis, assuming the post full time in April 2000.

At the Legal Network, Terry leads the Program Support Team. He assigns tasks to and supervises the work of the members of the Program Support Team, and manages the Legal Network’s Resource Centre and publication distribution, office workspace, IT, and membership base. He also supports the needs of the Board of Directors, and oversees the logistical and administrative aspects of planning and implementing the Legal Network’s annual general meeting and other Legal Network workshops and forums. Terry is also the first contact for volunteers at the Legal Network.

Zinat Sultana

Zinat Sultana, (she/her) Program Support Assistant

Zinat joined the Legal Network in 2022 as the Program Support Assistant. In this role, Zinat uses her administrative and social work background to help keep the office running smoothly and efficiently. Whether she’s monitoring media articles for relevant coverage, organizing physical files, or helping maintain supplies, Zinat approaches her work with a pleasant attitude and a willingness to make a positive difference for the Legal Network. Her attention to detail also comes in handy when she’s updating our donor database. A naturally ambitious and outgoing person, Zinat is currently taking her thirst for adventure with her as she continues her studies at George Brown College.

* Management team

Notre personnel

André Capretti

André Capretti

Depuis qu’il s’est joint au personnel du Réseau juridique VIH en octobre 2022, André a travaillé sur une variété d’enjeux de droits humains liés au VIH, notamment en ce qui concerne les communautés autochtones et la réduction des méfaits dans le contexte carcéral, de même que sur divers contentieux stratégiques.

Auparavant, André a travaillé comme avocat plaidant pour le gouvernement fédéral, comme stagiaire sur les questions d’intérêt public pour Amnistie internationale Canada, et dans un cabinet d’avocat-es spécialisé en litiges à Montréal. Pendant ses études, il a été stagiaire au Tribunal des droits de la personne du Québec et bénévole pour divers groupes d’étudiant-es, cliniques juridiques et instituts de recherche. Il a aussi effectué des stages d’été dans un ONG local de défense des droits humains à Phnom Penh, Cambodge, et au Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies aux droits de l’homme à Genève, Suisse.

André est titulaire d’un diplôme conjoint en droit civil et en common law (BCL/JD) de l’Université McGill, avec spécialisation en droits humains et développement international. Il détient également une maîtrise en droits humains et démocratisation du Global Campus of Human Rights (Venise, Italie); sa thèse portait sur le rôle des droits de l’enfant dans le mouvement de litige climatique.

Il a été admis aux Barreaux du Québec et de l’Ontario en 2020.

Cécile Kazatchkine

Cécile Kazatchkine, (elle) analyste principale des politiques

Cécile Kazatchkine travaille avec le Réseau juridique depuis plus de dix ans. Auparavant établie à Toronto, elle est à présent de retour à Paris, France.

Parlant couramment l’anglais et le français, Cécile dirige notre travail avec HIV Justice Worldwide – une coalition mondiale de lutte contre la criminalisation du VIH, où elle soutient un réseau de militant-es francophones. Cécile est également très engagée dans notre travail auprès du Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme; elle fournit régulièrement une assistance technique en Afrique de l’Ouest et du Nord en lien avec le programme des droits humains et le VIH. Forte de sa longue expérience de lutte contre la criminalisation du VIH au Canada, elle continue à soutenir le plaidoyer et travaille à des enjeux liés aux politiques sur les drogues à l’échelon national.

Doriana Schiavi

Doriana Schiavi, (elle) gestionnaire des finances*

Doriana s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique en janvier 2006.

Au Réseau juridique, Doriana dirige l’Équipe des finances. Elle crée et gère des budgets, et contribue à la préparation des demandes de financement et des rapports financiers aux bailleurs de fonds. Elle s’acquitte également des tâches quotidiennes pertinentes aux finances du Réseau juridique.

Dylan DeMarsh

Dylan DeMarsh, (il/lui) responsable des communications numériques et stratégiques

Dylan s’est joint au personnel du Réseau juridique VIH en juin 2022. Il est chargé de produire du contenu pour les médias numériques et de soutenir d’autres aspects des activités de communication de l’organisme.

Il a travaillé 12 ans pour le PARN-Your Community AIDS Resource Network de Peterborough. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en journalisme de l’Université Carleton et d’un certificat en relations publiques du Langara College de Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique.

India Annamanthadoo

India Annamanthadoo, (elle) analyste des politiques

India considère la communauté comme étant le cœur du plaidoyer pour les droits humains.

À titre d’analyste des politiques au Réseau juridique VIH, elle se consacre à assurer des réponses communautaires à la criminalisation du VIH au Canada, y compris par le plaidoyer pour la réforme du droit. Elle travaille également à des enjeux de politiques sur les drogues et de la réduction des méfaits, et contribue à notre travail contre les lois anti-LGBTQ dans les Caraïbes.

Janet Butler-McPhee

Janet Butler-McPhee, (elle) co-directrice générale*

Janet s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique en décembre 2010. Elle en est devenue co-directrice générale en juillet 2021.

Janet est responsable du bon fonctionnement général du Réseau juridique et de la mise en œuvre de son mandat. Elle conseille et soutient le conseil d’administration, notamment dans l’élaboration d’orientations stratégiques, de plans organisationnels et de politiques. Elle guide également les efforts de collecte de fonds de l’organisme.

 

Maurice Tomlinson, (il/lui) consultant en droits LGBTQ

Maurice s’est joint au personnel du Réseau juridique en février 2015.

Au Réseau juridique, il est conseiller juridique et/ou requérant dans des affaires contestant des lois anti-gais devant les plus hauts tribunaux de la région de la Caraïbe; il rédige des rapports à l’intention d’agences régionales et des Nations Unies, relativement à la situation des droits humains des personnes LGBTI de cette région; il dirige des initiatives de formation et de sensibilisation au VIH à l’intention de systèmes judiciaires et des effectifs policiers; et facilite la documentation des droits humains et la réalisation d’initiatives de renforcement des capacités de plaidoyer.

Megan Long

Megan Long, (elle) spécialiste des communications

Megan s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique VIH en mars 2018.

À titre de spécialiste des communications, Megan est la principale rédactrice et réviseuse de tous les produits de communication du Réseau juridique VIH. Elle révise et vérifie également tous ses rapports et documents de politiques – bref, rien ne sort des bureaux de l’organisme sans qu’elle l’ait vu! Megan considère que les mots sont un outil crucial pour transformer les cœurs et les esprits et ainsi conduire à des changements de politiques. Le plaidoyer doit être convaincant et raconter une histoire – et c’est la force de Megan. Elle a perfectionné ses compétences de narration dans son occupation précédente à titre d’éditrice de fiction, et elle lit d’ailleurs des romans pour s’évader des réalités quotidiennes du travail et de la parentalité. Dans ses temps libres, on la trouvera à essayer de nouvelles recettes de pâtisserie, à chanter dans une chorale ou à tenter de convaincre ses deux enfants de l’accompagner le long de la Promenade de Toronto.

Mikhail Golichenko

Mikhail Golichenko, (il/lui) analyste principal des politiques

Mikhail s’est joint au personnel du Réseau juridique en septembre 2010.

Au Réseau juridique, il dirige la recherche sur les droits humains et le plaidoyer pour ceux-ci dans les pays russophones, avec un accent particulier sur les enjeux liés aux politiques sur les drogues. Il est très impliqué dans le développement des capacités de travailleurs juridiques communautaires, en Russie, et continue d’apporter une assistance dans la contestation d’affaires portant sur la consommation de drogues et sur les droits humains, devant diverses instances régionales et internationales, incluant la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme et le Comité des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies.

Richard Elliott

Richard Elliott, (il/lui) consultant

Richard s’est joint au personnel du Réseau juridique en janvier 1999, à titre de directeur des politiques et de la recherche, après avoir siégé dix-huit mois à son conseil d’administration. Il est devenu directeur adjoint en 2005 et directeur général en 2007. Après son départ du poste de directeur général, Richard a commencé à travailler comme consultant, en se concentrant sur les droits de la personne dans le contexte du VIH.

Sandra Ka Hon Chu

Sandra Ka Hon Chu, (elle) co-directrice générale*

Sandra s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique en septembre 2007. Elle en est devenue co-directrice générale en juillet 2021.

Sandra est responsable du bon fonctionnement général du Réseau juridique et de la mise en œuvre de son mandat. Elle conseille et soutient le conseil d’administration, notamment dans l’élaboration d’orientations stratégiques, de plans organisationnels et de politiques. Elle a par ailleurs contribué à orienter le contentieux du Réseau juridique dans des actions en justice clés, au Canada et dans le monde, y compris des poursuites pour contester le refus du gouvernement canadien d’adopter des programmes de seringues dans les établissements correctionnels, de même que les lois criminelles relatives au travail du sexe.

 

Terry Gould, (il/lui) gestionnaire du soutien aux programmes*

Terry s’est joint au personnel du Réseau juridique en octobre 1998 à titre de stagiaire. Il est devenu gestionnaire du soutien aux programmes à temps partiel en mai 1999, puis à temps plein en avril 2000.

Au Réseau juridique, Terry dirige l’Équipe du soutien aux programmes. Il assigne des tâches aux membres de cette équipe et supervise leur travail, en plus de gérer le Centre de ressources et la distribution des publications, l’espace de bureau, les technologies de l’information et le bassin de membres du Réseau juridique. Il voit aux besoins du conseil d’administration et supervise les aspects logistiques et administratifs de la planification et de la tenue de l’assemblée générale annuelle et d’autres ateliers et forums de l’organisme. Terry agit également à titre de premier contact pour les bénévoles du Réseau juridique.

Zinat Sultana

Zinat Sultana, (elle) adjointe de soutien aux programmes

Zinat s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique VIH en 2022, à titre d’adjointe de soutien aux programmes. Elle y met à profit son expérience en administration et en travail social pour assurer le fonctionnement efficace du bureau. Qu’il s’agisse de surveiller la couverture médiatique, d’organiser des dossiers physiques ou d’aider au maintien des fournitures, Zinat approche son travail avec enthousiasme et désire faire une différence positive pour le Réseau juridique. Son souci du détail lui est fort utile lorsque vient le temps de mettre à jour notre base de données des donateur(-trice)s. D’un naturel ambitieux et sociable, Zinat nourrit sa soif d’aventure en poursuivant ses études au George Brown College.

* Équipe de gestion