Informing, advocating, mobilizing

Mission

Mission

The HIV Legal Network promotes the human rights of people living with HIV or AIDS and other populations disproportionately affected by HIV, punitive laws and policies, and criminalization, in Canada and internationally. We do this through research and analysis, litigation and other advocacy, public education, and community mobilization.

Vision

We envision a world in which the human rights and dignity of all people, including people living with HIV or AIDS and other populations disproportionately affected by HIV and criminalization, are respected, protected, and fulfilled; where all people understand and can exercise their human rights; and where laws and policies facilitate access to prevention, care, treatment, and support. 

Values

The work of the Legal Network is rooted in a number of guiding values:

  • The centrality of human rights in the response to HIV and other health concerns; 
  • A focus on the rights of populations disproportionately affected by HIV, punitive laws and policies, and criminalization;  
  • A commitment to partnership and ensuring the equitable and meaningful participation of people with lived and living experience in our work and in defining and implementing policies and programs; 
  • Ensuring the equitable and meaningful engagement of both francophones and anglophones in our work, and ensuring that our resources on domestic issues are accessible in both of Canada’s official languages; 
  • A commitment to action and activism to make concrete political and social change; 
  • A commitment to employing an intersectional feminist lens in our work and on all of our issues; 
  • A commitment to confronting and drawing attention to anti-Black racism and other forms of racism in our work and on all of our issues;  
  • A commitment to reconciliation and to centering Indigenous perspectives in our work and on all of our issues, including the Calls to Action of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Calls for Justice of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls; 
  • Accountability to the communities we serve and to donors, including transparent reporting and effective use of resources; 
  • A commitment to global responsibility and engagement, to stand in solidarity with people living with HIV and affected populations internationally and to expand the reach of our human rights work; and 
  • A commitment to excellence in all areas of our work.

Informer, militer, mobiliser

Mission

Mission

Le Réseau juridique VIH fait valoir les droits humains des personnes vivant avec le VIH ou le sida et d’autres populations affectées de manière disproportionnée par le VIH, les lois et politiques punitives et la criminalisation, au Canada et dans le monde, à l’aide de recherches et d’analyses, d’actions en contentieux et d’autres formes de plaidoyer, d’éducation du public et de mobilisation communautaire.

Vision

Nous envisageons un monde où les droits humains et la dignité de toutes les personnes, y compris les personnes vivant avec le VIH ou le sida et d’autres populations affectées de manière disproportionnée par le VIH et la criminalisation, sont respectés, protégés et réalisés; où toutes les personnes comprennent et peuvent exercer leurs droits humains; et où les lois et les politiques facilitent l’accès à la prévention, aux soins, aux traitements et au soutien.

Valeurs

Le travail du Réseau juridique s’enracine dans les valeurs suivantes :

    • La place cruciale des droits humains dans la réponse au VIH et à d’autres enjeux de santé;
    • Une attention importante aux droits des populations affectées de manière disproportionnée par le VIH, les lois et politiques punitives et la criminalisation;
    • Un engagement au partenariat et à la participation équitable et significative des personnes ayant une expérience vécue, dans notre travail et dans la définition et la mise en œuvre des politiques et programmes;
    • Un engagement à l’implication équitable et significative des francophones et des anglophones, dans notre travail, et à l’accessibilité de nos ressources sur les enjeux canadiens dans les deux langues officielles du Canada;
    • Un engagement à l’action et à l’activisme pour des changements politiques et sociaux concrets;
    • Un engagement à une perspective féministe intersectionnelle dans notre travail et pour tous les enjeux dont nous traitons;
    • Un engagement à attirer l’attention sur le racisme anti-Noirs et les autres formes de racisme, et à les contester, dans notre travail et pour tous les enjeux dont nous traitons;
    • Un engagement à la réconciliation et à la place centrale des perspectives autochtones dans notre travail et pour tous les enjeux dont nous traitons, y compris les Appels à l’action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation et les Appels à la justice de l’Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées;
    • La reddition de comptes aux communautés pour lesquelles nous travaillons ainsi qu’aux bailleurs de fonds, y compris par la transparence et l’utilisation optimale de nos ressources;
    • Un engagement à la responsabilité et à l’implication mondiales; à la solidarité avec les personnes vivant avec le VIH et les populations affectées à l’échelle mondiale; et à l’expansion de la portée de notre travail en matière de droits humains; et
    • Un engagement à l’excellence dans tous les domaines de notre travail.