Privacy

Overview

The right to privacy is a fundamental human right. Except in narrow circumstances that must be legally and ethically justified, all people, including those living with HIV, should have the power to decide how, when, to whom, and to what extent their personal health information is shared.

People living with HIV often suffer discrimination as a result of the unauthorized disclosure of their HIV status. As a result, many lose their jobs, housing and insurance, and see their personal relationships with family and friends compromised.

Our work contributes to the informed development of Canadian laws and policies that support the right to privacy and the confidentiality of health information of people living with HIV.

Protecting and promoting the human right to privacy is essential to meeting the public health goals of lessening the impact of HIV on individuals and communities and minimizing its transmission and to recognizing the inherent dignity of people affected by HIV.

Learn more:

PublicationsNews

Rights Within Reach: Strategic Plan 2022-2027

The HIV Legal Network promotes the human rights of people living with HIV or AIDS and other populations disproportionately affected by HIV and criminalization, in Canada and internationally. In 2021, we undertook a planning process that would shape the strategic goals and priorities for the organization’s next five years (2022-2027). To do this, we sought … Read more

Rights Within Reach: Strategic Plan 2022-2027, Executive Summary

In 2021, the HIV Legal Network undertook a planning process that would shape the strategic goals and priorities for the organization’s next five years (2022-2027). To do this, we sought the input of a broad range of stakeholders, from partner organizations to people living with and affected by HIV and criminalization, to staff. All identified … Read more

Respect, Protect, Fulfill: Supporting the HIV Legal Network

Respect. Protect. Fulfill. You can help challenge wrongs, advance rights, and transform lives. Denied basic healthcare. Criminalized and vilified for love. Unfairly targeted by police. These abuses, and more, are too often the experience of people living with HIV and of communities affected by HIV. At the HIV Legal Network, our mission has always been … Read more

A Moment of Breakthrough - Annual Report 2020-2021

A Moment of Breakthrough: Annual Report 2020-2021

Seizing the moment to push for concrete and lasting change.

Annual Report 2019-2020: Our History, Our Future

Our History, Our Future: Annual Report 2019-2020

Guided by the past and working toward the future as we challenge wrongs, advance rights, and transform lives.

Search all publications

Vie privée

Aperçu

Le droit à la vie privée est un droit humain élémentaire. À l’exception de circonstances étroites qui doivent être justifiées sur les plans juridique et éthique, toute personne — y compris celles qui vivent avec le VIH — devrait pouvoir décider comment, quand, à qui et dans quelle mesure sera partagée l’information à propos de sa santé.

Des personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida rencontrent souvent de la discrimination et d’autres violations de droits humains en raison de la divulgation non autorisée de leur séropositivité. En conséquence, elles peuvent perdre leur emploi, leur logement ou leur assurance, et leurs relations personnelles avec des membres de leur famille ou avec des amis peuvent être compromises.

Notre travail contribue au développement éclairé, au Canada, de lois et de politiques qui appuient le droit à la vie privée ainsi qu’à la confidentialité des renseignements de santé des personnes vivant avec le VIH.

La protection et la promotion du droit humain à la vie privée sont essentielles au respect de la dignité inhérente des personnes vivant avec le VIH et à l’atteinte des buts de santé publique de réduire les répercussions du VIH sur les individus et les communautés et de réduire sa transmission.

En savoir plus :

PublicationsCommuniqués

(English) Rights Within Reach: Strategic Plan 2022-2027

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Canadien.

Tout près de nos droits : PLAN STRATÉGIQUE 2022-2027 DU RÉSEAU JURIDIQUE VIH, résumé

En 2021, nous avons amorcé un processus de planification afin d’établir nos objectifs et priorités stratégiques des cinq prochaines années (2022-2027). Pour ce faire, nous avons sollicité l’apport d’un large éventail de dépositaires d’enjeux – notamment des organismes partenaires, des personnes vivant avec le VIH et affectées par la criminalisation et des membres de notre … Lire plus

Respecter, Protéger, Réaliser : Soutenir le Réseau juridique VIH

Respecter. Protéger. Réaliser. Vous pouvez aider à combattre les injustices, à faire avancer les droits et à transformer des vies. Privées de soins de santé élémentaires. Criminalisées et diabolisées pour des relations amoureuses. Ciblées injustement par la police. Les personnes vivant avec le VIH et les communautés affectées par le VIH rencontrent trop souvent ces … Lire plus

Un moment de percée - Rapport Annuel 2020-2021

Un moment de percée : Rapport Annuel 2020-2021

Saisir le moment pour faire pression en faveur de changements concrets et durables.

Annual Report 2019-2020: Our History, Our Future

Notre Passé, Notre Futur : Rapport Annuel 2019-2020

Le passé comme guide et le futur comme point de mire, nous combattons les injustices, faisons avancer les droits et transformons des vies.

Chercher dans tous les documents