Prisons

Overview

In many countries, including Canada, HIV and hepatitis C (HCV) infection is significantly more prevalent among people in prison than among the population as a whole. In part, this is because people from communities that are already disproportionately affected by HIV — including people who use drugs — also face disproportionate rates of incarceration. But it’s also because people in prison often don’t have access to the same health services available to people outside prison — a violation of human rights.

Depending on the setting, the lack of opioid substitution therapy (e.g. methadone), condom distribution, sterile injection equipment and other harm reduction measures are all factors driving the HIV epidemic in prisons. Infections acquired in prison ultimately result in greater public health costs. And, since most prisoners are eventually released back into the community, harm to the health of those in prison also harms public health more broadly.

We work with a range of partners, in Canada and internationally, to improve access in prisons to:

  • voluntary and confidential HIV testing;
  • services to reduce HIV and other harms (e.g. condom and lubricant distribution, safer tattooing programs, drug dependence treatment, needle and syringe programs); and
  • uninterrupted antiretroviral treatment and other medical care.

Learn more:

PublicationsNews

Legal Network News – December 1, 2022

Today, the HIV Legal Network marks World AIDS Day by joining with the United Nations in a call to governments around the world to reform laws, policies, and practices that create and exacerbate the stigma faced by people living with HIV. This year’s theme is “Equalize” and we are recommitting ourselves to working to challenge laws that oppress … Read more

POINTS OF PERSPECTIVE: RESEARCH REPORT ON THE FEDERAL PRISON NEEDLE EXCHANGE PROGRAM IN CANADA

Despite ample empirical evidence demonstrating the effectiveness of needle and syringe programs, the federal Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) refused for decades to implement this essential prison harm reduction program. After years of inaction, in 2012 the HIV Legal Network along with Steve Simons, a man formerly incarcerated in a federal prison, and three HIV … Read more

Rights Within Reach: Strategic Plan 2022-2027

The HIV Legal Network promotes the human rights of people living with HIV or AIDS and other populations disproportionately affected by HIV and criminalization, in Canada and internationally. In 2021, we undertook a planning process that would shape the strategic goals and priorities for the organization’s next five years (2022-2027). To do this, we sought … Read more

Rights Within Reach: Strategic Plan 2022-2027, Executive Summary

In 2021, the HIV Legal Network undertook a planning process that would shape the strategic goals and priorities for the organization’s next five years (2022-2027). To do this, we sought the input of a broad range of stakeholders, from partner organizations to people living with and affected by HIV and criminalization, to staff. All identified … Read more

Respect, Protect, Fulfill: Supporting the HIV Legal Network

Respect. Protect. Fulfill. You can help challenge wrongs, advance rights, and transform lives. Denied basic healthcare. Criminalized and vilified for love. Unfairly targeted by police. These abuses, and more, are too often the experience of people living with HIV and of communities affected by HIV. At the HIV Legal Network, our mission has always been … Read more

Search all publications

WORLD AIDS DAY 2022: IT’S TIME TO EQUALIZE, IN CANADA AND BEYOND

November 30, 2022 — Today, the HIV Legal Network marks World AIDS Day by joining with the United Nations (UN) in a call to governments around the world to reform laws, policies, and practices that create and exacerbate the stigma faced by people living with HIV. With this year’s theme being “Equalize,” we are focused … Read more

POINTS OF PERSPECTIVE: NEW REPORT ON NORTH AMERICA’S FIRST-EVER PRISON NEEDLE EXCHANGE PROGRAM (IN CANADA) SHOWS CRITICAL LIMITATIONS AND CHALLENGES

November 29, 2022 — Today, researchers at the HIV Legal Network and Toronto Metropolitan University have released Points of Perspective, the very first national independent study of Canada’s “Prison Needle Exchange Program” (PNEP). It is based on interviews with people formerly incarcerated in federal prisons across the country and provides an overview of the PNEP … Read more

MEDIA STATEMENT: WORLD AIDS DAY 2021: FORTY YEARS OF HIV, FORTY YEARS OF PROGRESS

WORLD AIDS DAY 2021: FORTY YEARS OF HIV, FORTY YEARS OF PROGRESS The following can be attributed to the HIV Legal Network.   November 30, 2021 – Toronto – Tomorrow is World AIDS Day — a day to reflect on the current state of HIV and AIDS in the world, where we started, and how … Read more

HUMAN RIGHTS GROUPS FILE LEGAL CHALLENGE CITING CANADA’S FAILURE TO PROTECT PRISONERS’ HEALTH IN THE CONTEXT OF COVID-19

On May 12, 2020, the Canadian Civil Liberties Association (CCLA), HIV Legal Network, Canadian Prison Law Association (CPLA), HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO), and current federal prisoner Sean Johnston filed a constitutional and human rights challenge against the Government of Canada, to compel it to take proactive steps to ensure prisoners’ safety in the … Read more

LEGAL CHALLENGE CITING CANADA’S FAILURE TO PROTECT PRISONERS’ HEALTH DURING COVID-19: NOTICE OF APPLICATION

On May 12, the Canadian Civil Liberties Association (CCLA), Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network, Canadian Prison Law Association (CPLA), HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO), and current federal prisoner Sean Johnston filed a constitutional and human rights challenge against the Government of Canada, to compel it to take proactive steps to ensure prisoners’ safety in the … Read more

Search all news articles

Prisons

Aperçu

Dans plusieurs pays, dont le Canada, les taux de VIH et d’infection à hépatite C (VHC) parmi les détenus sont beaucoup plus élevés que dans la population générale. Cela est dû en partie au fait que les membres des communautés qui sont déjà affectées de manière disproportionnée par le VIH — notamment les personnes qui utilisent des drogues — ont également des taux d’incarcération disproportionnés. Mais c’est aussi parce que les personnes incarcérées n’ont souvent pas accès à des services de santé équivalents à ceux offerts hors prison — ce qui constitue une violation de leurs droits de la personne.

Selon le contexte, l’absence de programmes de traitement de substitution aux opiacés (p. ex., la méthadone), de distribution de condoms, de matériel d’injection stérile et d’autres mesures de réduction des méfaits est un facteur qui alimente l’épidémie du VIH dans les prisons. Les infections contractées en prison entraînent des coûts de santé publique accrus. Et comme la plupart des détenus retournent éventuellement dans la communauté, les méfaits pour la santé des personnes incarcérées affectent aussi la santé publique en général.

Nous collaborons avec un éventail de partenaires, au Canada et dans le monde, à accroître l’accès aux mesures suivantes en prison :

  • test du VIH volontaire et confidentiel;
  • services visant à réduire le VIH et d’autres méfaits (p. ex., distribution de condoms et de lubrifiant, programmes de tatouage plus sécuritaire, traitement de la dépendance à la drogue, programmes d’échange de seringues); et
  • traitement antirétroviral et autres soins médicaux ininterrompus.

En savoir plus :

PublicationsCommuniqués

Connaître ses droits : Les communautés autochtones et le VIH/VHC dans les prisons fédérales

Nouvelles du Réseau Juridique – 1 décembre 2022

Aujourd’hui, le Réseau juridique VIH marque la Journée mondiale du sida en se joignant aux Nations Unies (ONU) pour appeler les gouvernements du monde entier à réformer les lois, politiques et pratiques qui engendrent et exacerbent la stigmatisation des personnes vivant avec le VIH. Le thème de cette année, « Égalité maintenant », nous incite à nous réengager pour contester … Lire plus

POINTS DE VUE: RAPPORT DE RECHERCHE SUR LE PROGRAMME FÉDÉRAL D’ÉCHANGE DE SERINGUES EN PRISON AU CANADA

Malgré les nombreuses preuves empiriques démontrant l’efficacité des programmes d’échange de seringues, le Service correctionnel fédéral du Canada (SCC) a refusé pendant des décennies de mettre en oeuvre ce programme essentiel de réduction des méfaits en prison. Après des années d’inaction, en 2012, le Réseau juridique VIH ainsi que Steve Simons, un ancien détenu d’une … Lire plus

(English) Rights Within Reach: Strategic Plan 2022-2027

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Canadien.

Tout près de nos droits : PLAN STRATÉGIQUE 2022-2027 DU RÉSEAU JURIDIQUE VIH, résumé

En 2021, nous avons amorcé un processus de planification afin d’établir nos objectifs et priorités stratégiques des cinq prochaines années (2022-2027). Pour ce faire, nous avons sollicité l’apport d’un large éventail de dépositaires d’enjeux – notamment des organismes partenaires, des personnes vivant avec le VIH et affectées par la criminalisation et des membres de notre … Lire plus

Chercher dans tous les documents

JOURNÉE MONDIALE DU SIDA DE 2022: ÉGALITÉ MAINTENANT, AU CANADA ET AU-DELÀ

30 novembre 2022 – Aujourd’hui, le Réseau juridique VIH marque la Journée mondiale du sida en se joignant aux Nations Unies (ONU) pour appeler les gouvernements du monde entier à réformer les lois, politiques et pratiques qui engendrent et exacerbent la stigmatisation des personnes vivant avec le VIH. Le thème de cette année, « Égalité maintenant », nous … Lire plus

POINTS DE VUE : UN NOUVEAU RAPPORT SUR LE TOUT PREMIER PROGRAMME NORD-AMÉRICAIN D’ÉCHANGE DE SERINGUES EN PRISON (AU CANADA) SOULIGNE DES LIMITES ET DES DÉFIS CRITIQUES

29 novembre 2022 – Des chercheuses du Réseau juridique VIH et de la Toronto Metropolitan University ont dévoilé aujourd’hui Points de vue, la toute première étude nationale indépendante sur le « Programme d’échange de seringues en prison » (PÉSP) du Canada. Leur recherche, basée sur des entretiens avec des personnes qui ont été incarcérées dans des prisons fédérales … Lire plus

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE: JOURNÉE MONDIALE DU SIDA 2021 : QUARANTE ANS DE VIH, QUARANTE ANS DE PROGRÈS

JOURNÉE MONDIALE DU SIDA 2021 : QUARANTE ANS DE VIH, QUARANTE ANS DE PROGRÈS Le communiqué qui suit peut être attribué au Réseau juridique VIH.   Toronto, le 30 novembre 2021 – En cette Journée mondiale de lutte contre le sida, prenons le temps de réfléchir au contexte actuel du VIH et du sida dans le monde; … Lire plus

DES GROUPES DE DÉFENSE DES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE SAISISSENT LA JUSTICE EN INVOQUANT L’INCAPACITÉ DU GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA À PROTÉGER LA SANTÉ DES PRISONNIERS DANS LE CONTEXTE DE LA COVID-19

Le 12 mai 2020, l’Association canadienne des libertés civiles (ACLC), le Réseau juridique VIH, la Canadian Prison Law Association (CPLA), la HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) ainsi que Sean Johnston, un détenu actuellement incarcéré dans un établissement carcéral fédéral, ont saisi la justice pour violation des droits de la personne et lancé une … Lire plus

(English) LEGAL CHALLENGE CITING CANADA’S FAILURE TO PROTECT PRISONERS’ HEALTH DURING COVID-19: NOTICE OF APPLICATION

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Canadien.

Chercher dans les nouvelles