SEX WORKER HUMAN RIGHTS GROUPS LAUNCH CONSTITUTIONAL CHALLENGE

SEX WORKER HUMAN RIGHTS GROUPS LAUNCH CONSTITUTIONAL CHALLENGE

 PRESS RELEASE – FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

 

March 30, 2021 –  The Canadian Alliance for Sex Work Law Reform — an alliance of 25 sex worker rights groups across the country led predominantly by and for sex workers — along with several individual applicants, have filed a Notice of Application seeking to strike down the sex work prohibitions against impeding traffic (s. 213(1)), public communication (s. 213(1.1)), purchasing (s.286.1(1)), materially benefiting (s. 286.2(1)), recruiting (s. 286.3(1)), and advertising (s. 286.4) in the Criminal Code, because they violate sex workers’ constitutional rights to security, personal autonomy, life, liberty, free expression, free association, and equality.

“We have been patiently waiting on the empty promises of parliamentarians to uphold the rights of sex workers who are increasingly experiencing the impacts of these laws, and the heavy hand of law enforcement,” says Alliance National Coordinator Jenn Clamen. “This government has spent five years paying lip service to human rights and to feminism, and it’s time for them to act.”

In 2013, the Supreme Court of Canada ruled three prostitution prohibitions in criminal law to be unconstitutional because they caused harm to sex workers and contravened sex workers’ rights to liberty and security. This was the federal government’s opportunity to recognize sex workers’ rights and well-being by decriminalizing sex work. Instead, the government of the day created a set of laws under the Protection of Communities and Exploited Persons Act (PCEPA) that reproduce those same harms.  

Despite its title, PCEPA does anything but protect communities and exploited persons. It reproduces and legitimizes the harmful impacts of the previous sex work offences declared unconstitutional in Canada v. Bedford and adds new offences that make sex workers vulnerable to human rights violations. Individually and taken together, these laws cause numerous harmful impacts to sex workers, notably by prohibiting sex workers from:

  • communicating and negotiating conditions and establishing consent to sexual activity;
  • obtaining relevant and identifiable information from clients and engaging in other screening practices that are vital to sex workers’ safety;
  • working in non-isolated, collective and indoor workspaces; and
  • establishing important working and safety relationships with managers, receptionists, drivers, interpreters, partners, peers, and security, and with other sex workers who join together to pool resources, services, and knowledge.

All of these provisions force sex workers to work in a criminalized context where sex workers are isolated from supports, made vulnerable to exploitation, eviction, and subpar working conditions, and targeted for violence. Migrant sex workers are also vulnerable to loss of immigration status and deportation.

Claims that PCEPA “decriminalizes sex workers but criminalize clients” are false; sex workers are directly and indirectly criminalized and experience constant fear, stigma, discrimination, and other deleterious consequences of criminalization that prevent access to health, social, and legal services. The criminalization of all elements of sex work also invites unwanted and unsolicited police presence in the lives of sex workers  – particularly for Black, Indigenous, migrant and trans sex workers, and sex workers who use drugs, who are regularly profiled and targeted.

As long as the criminal law regulates sex workers’ lives and working conditions, sex workers will continue to try to avoid detection by law enforcement, live and work in precarious conditions, not seek help or report crimes against us, and will remain surveilled, policed, and more vulnerable to targeted violence and exploitation.

As long as the government’s objective remains the elimination of sex work, sex workers will continue to be excluded from labour protections and social programs, and will continue to be targeted by aggressors with impunity.

“I’m tired of hiding and of running from the police,” one of the individual sex worker co-applicants expressed. “I hope that my participation in this challenge will show the world that we cannot keep condoning the violation of sex workers’ human rights.”

Sex workers from all sectors of the industry have been asking for the full decriminalization of sex work as a vital first step towards ending the stigma, violence and exploitation in our lives; we need the full protection of the Charter, and a commitment from the government to improve our safety and quality of life.

 

-30-

 

For interviews with the Alliance or one of our member groups contact:

Canadian Alliance for Sex Work Law Reform

contact@sexworklawreform.com, Tel : 514.916.2598 

 

Alliance member organizations include: Action santé travesti(e)s et transsexuel(le)s du Québec (ASTT(e)Q) (Montreal); ANSWERS Society (Edmonton); BC Coalition of Experiential Communities (BCCEW); Butterfly Asian and Migrant Sex Work Support Network (Toronto); HIV Legal Network; Émissaire (Longueuil); Maggie’s Toronto Sex Workers’ Action Project; Maggie’s Indigenous Sex Work Drum Group; PEERS Victoria; Projet L.U.N.E. (Québec); Prostitutes Involved Empowered Cogent Edmonton (PIECE) (Edmonton); PACE Society (Vancouver); Rézo, projet travailleurs du sexe (Montreal); Safe Harbour Outreach Project (SHOP) (St John’s); SafeSpace (London); Sex Workers’ Action Program Hamilton (SWAPH); Sex Professionals of Canada (SPOC); Sex Workers’ Action Network of Waterloo Region (SWAN Waterloo); Sex Workers of Winnipeg Action Coalition (SWWAC); Sex Workers United Against Violence (SWUAV) (Vancouver); Shift Calgary, HIV Community Link; Stella, l’amie de Maimie (Montreal); SWANS Sudbury; SWAN Vancouver; and SWAP Yukon (Whitehorse).

This entry was posted in English, French, News, Our Work, Pub Language, Sex work and tagged . Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Language

GROUPES POUR LES DROITS HUMAINS DES TRAVAILLEUSE.EUR.S DU SEXE LANCENT UNE CONTESTATION CONSTITUTIONNELLE

GROUPES POUR LES DROITS HUMAINS DES TRAVAILLEUSE.EUR.S DU SEXE LANCENT UNE CONTESTATION CONSTITUTIONNELLE

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE – POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

 

Le 30 mars 2021 – L’Alliance canadienne pour la réforme des lois sur le travail du sexe – une alliance de 25 groupes de défense des droits des travailleuse.eur.s du sexe à travers le pays dirigée principalement par et pour les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe ont déposé, avec plusieurs demanderesses individuelles, un avis de demande qui exige l’invalidation des prohibitions sur le travail du sexe visant l’interférence à la circulation (art. 213(1)), la communication en public (art. 213 (1.1)), l’achat (art .286.1(1)), l’obtention d’un avantage matériel (art. 286.2(1)), le proxénétisme (art. 286.3(1)), et la publicité (art. 286.4) du Code criminel, parce qu’elles violent les droits constitutionnels des travailleuse.eur.s du sexe à la sécurité, à l’autonomie personnelle, à la vie, à la liberté, à la libre expression, à la liberté d’association, et à l’égalité.

« Nous attendons patiemment les promesses creuses des parlementaires de défendre les droits des travailleuse.eur.s du sexe qui subissent de plus en plus les effets de ces lois, et la sévérité des forces de l’ordre, » déclare la coordinatrice nationale de l’Alliance Jenn Clamen. « Ce gouvernement a passé cinq ans à lancer des paroles en l’air sur les droits humains et le féminisme, et il est temps pour eux d’agir. »

En 2013, la Cour suprême du Canada a déclaré que trois infractions criminelles liées à la prostitution étaient inconstitutionnelles parce qu’elles causaient du tort aux travailleuse.eur.s du sexe et enfreignaient les droits des travailleuse.eur.s du sexe à la liberté et à la sécurité. C’était l’occasion pour le gouvernement fédéral de reconnaître les droits et le bien-être des travailleuse.eur.s du sexe en décriminalisant le travail du sexe. Plutôt, le gouvernement de l’époque a créé un ensemble de lois en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des collectivités et des personnes victimes d’exploitation (LPCPVE) qui reproduisent ces mêmes torts.

Malgré son titre, la LPCPVE fait tout sauf protéger les communautés et les personnes exploitées. Elle reproduit et légitimise les effets néfastes des infractions précédentes sur le travail du sexe déclarées inconstitutionnelles dans Canada c. Bedford et ajoute de nouvelles infractions qui rendent les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe vulnérables aux violations de leurs droits humains. Individuellement et prises ensemble, ces lois ont de nombreux effets néfastes sur les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe, notamment en interdisant aux travailleuse.eur.s du sexe de :

  • Communiquer et négocier les conditions et établir le consentement à l’activité sexuelle;
  • Obtenir des informations pertinentes et identifiables des clients et s’engager dans d’autres pratiques d’évaluation préalable des clients qui sont vitales pour la sécurité des travailleuse.eur.s du sexe;
  • Travailler dans des espaces non-isolés, collectifs et à l’intérieur; et
  • Établir d’importantes relations de travail et de sécurité avec des gérant.e.s, réceptionnistes, chauffeurs, interprètes, partenaires, pair.e.s et agents de sécurité, et avec d’autres travailleuse.eur.s du sexe qui se réunissent pour mettre en commun des ressources, services et savoirs.

Toutes ces dispositions obligent les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe à travailler dans un contexte criminalisé où les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe sont isolé.e.s des soutiens, rendu.e.s vulnérables à l’exploitation, à l’expulsion et à des mauvaises conditions de travail, et ciblé.e.s par des agresseurs. Les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe migrant.e.s sont également vulnérables à la perte de leur statut d’immigration et à la déportation.

Les allégations selon lesquelles la LPCPVE « décriminalise les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe mais criminalise les clients » ne sont pas fondées – les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe sont directement et indirectement criminalisé.e.s et vivent constamment de la peur, la stigmatisation, de la discrimination, et autres conséquences délétères de la criminalisation qui empêchent l’accès aux institutions et aux services de santé, sociaux et légaux. De plus, la criminalisation du travail du sexe encourage une présence non désirée et non sollicitée de la part de la police dans la vie des travailleuse.eur.s du sexe, particulièrement celles.ceux qui sont Noir.e.s, autochtones, migrant.e.s, trans, ou qui consomment des drogues, qui sont déjà régulièrement surveillé.e.s et ciblé.e.s.

Tant que la vie et les conditions de travail des travailleuse.eur.s du sexe seront règlementées par des lois criminelles, les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe continuerons de  devoir éviter d’être détecté.e.s par les forces de l’ordre, de vivre et de travailler dans des conditions précaires, ne chercherons pas d’aide ou ne signalerons pas les crimes contre nous, et resterons surveillé.e.s, contrôlé.e.s, et plus vulnérables à la violence ciblée et l’exploitation.

Tant que l’objectif du gouvernement demeure l’élimination du travail du sexe, les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe vont continuer d’être exclu.e.s des normes du travail et des programmes sociaux, et continueront d’être les cibles d’agresseurs avec impunité.

« Je suis fatiguée de me cacher et m’enfuir de la police » une travailleuse du sexe co-demanderesse individuelle a exprimé. « J’espère que ma participation dans cette contestation va montrer au monde que nous ne pouvons pas continuer à tolérer et faciliter les violations des droits humains des travailleuse.eur.s du sexe. »

Les travailleuse.eur.s du sexe de tous les secteurs de l’industrie demandent la décriminalisation totale du travail du sexe comme première étape essentielle pour mettre fin la stigmatisation, à la violence et à l’exploitation dans nos vies; nous avons besoin de la pleine protection de la Charte, et un engagement de la part du gouvernement pour améliorer notre sécurité et qualité de vie.

 

-30-

Pour les entrevues avec l’Alliance ou un de nos groupes membres, contactez :

L’Alliance canadienne pour la réforme des lois sur le travail du sexe

contact@sexworklawreform.com, Tel : 514.916.2598

Les organismes membres de l’Alliance incluent : Action santé travesti(e)s et transsexuel(le)s du Québec (ASTT(e)Q) (Montreal); ANSWERS Society (Edmonton); BC Coalition of Experiential Communities (BCCEW); Butterfly Asian and Migrant Sex Work Support Network (Toronto); HIV Legal Network; Émissaire (Longueuil); Maggie’s Toronto Sex Workers’ Action Project; Maggie’s Indigenous Sex Work Drum Group; PEERS Victoria; Projet L.U.N.E. (Québec); Prostitutes Involved Empowered Cogent Edmonton (PIECE) (Edmonton); PACE Society (Vancouver); Rézo, projet travailleurs du sexe (Montreal); Safe Harbour Outreach Project (SHOP) (St John’s); SafeSpace (London); Sex Workers’ Action Program Hamilton (SWAPH); Sex Professionals of Canada (SPOC); Sex Workers’ Action Network of Waterloo Region (SWAN Waterloo); Sex Workers of Winnipeg Action Coalition (SWWAC); Sex Workers United Against Violence (SWUAV) (Vancouver); Shift Calgary, HIV Community Link; Stella, l’amie de Maimie (Montreal); SWANS Sudbury; SWAN Vancouver; and SWAP Yukon (Whitehorse).

Cet article a été publié dans Anglais, Français, News, Our Work, Pub Language, Travail du sexe avec les mots-clefs . Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Langue