Drug decriminalization and international law: Brief submitted to the Health Canada Expert Task Force on Substance Use

The HIV Legal Network submitted this brief to the Health Canada Expert Task Force on Substance Use as part of their look into alternatives to criminal penalties for simple possession of controlled substances.

As we wrote, “Canada has both important latitude under the drug control conventions, and important obligations under human rights treaties it has ratified. It can and should use that latitude in the realm of drug control to better respect, protect and fulfil the human rights it has pledged to uphold, and which are also embodied to various degrees in its own constitution. It can and should do so by removing all criminal and other punitive sanctions for the simple possession, purchase and cultivation of drugs for personal consumption, and by removing significant criminal penalties for at least small-scale trafficking and related activities.”

August 2021: Read the final report and recommendations from the Task Force here.

 

This entry was posted in Advocacy, Briefing Papers, Drug policy, English, French, Our Work, Pub Language and tagged , . Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

La dépénalisation des drogues et le droit international: Mémoire présenté au Groupe de travail d’experts sur la consommation de substances de Santé Canada

Le Reseau juridique VIH a soumis ce mémoire au Groupe d’experts sur la consommation de substances de Santé Canada sur les solutions de rechange aux sanctions pénales pour possession simple de substances contrôlées.

Comme nous avons écrit: « le Canada dispose à la fois d’une importante latitude en vertu des conventions relatives au contrôle des drogues et d’importantes obligations en vertu des traités relatifs aux droits de l’homme qu’il a ratifiés. Il peut et doit utiliser cette latitude dans le domaine de la lutte contre la drogue pour mieux respecter, protéger et honorer les droits de l’homme qu’il s’est engagé à défendre et qui sont également inscrits à des degrés divers dans sa propre constitution. Il peut et doit le faire en supprimant toutes les sanctions pénales et autres sanctions punitives pour la possession simple, l’achat et la culture de drogues destinées à la consommation personnelle, et en supprimant les sanctions pénales importantes pour le trafic à petite échelle et les activités connexes. »

Août 2021 : Lisez le rapport final et les recommandations du Groupe d’experts ici.

Cet article a été publié dans Plaidoyer, Documents d'information, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Language avec les mots-clefs , . Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.