HIV Legal Network Statement on Ukraine Invasion by Russia

We are deeply shaken by the invasion of Ukraine by Russia. We are also compelled to speak up because this is an area of the world in which we at the HIV Legal Network work, a region where the HIV pandemic rages on.  

The devastating occupation of Ukraine has enormous impacts on our work and on our partners, with whom we stand in solidarity as they face the unimaginable.  

The occupation of Ukraine means that people living with HIV face disruptions to critical health services and medication, on which they depend. Ukraine’s laudable HIV prevention and human rights promotion efforts will also be collateral damage in this unprovoked war.     

For people who use drugs in Ukraine, access to harm reduction measures — including opioid agonist therapy — is at serious risk.   

And in war, people living with HIV, people who use drugs, LGBTQ+ people, people in prison, sex workers, and others who are already marginalized will suffer greatly. Lives will be lost, not only by gunfire and bombing.   

We continue to monitor this evolving situation and connect with our in-country partners as we are able. The attack on Ukraine and its people will mean that many human rights projects will necessarily be put on hold, and that is heartbreaking.  

But we remain committed to the people and to the projects meant to uphold their human rights. That will not change. 

We stand united with Ukraine and with all Ukrainians. We stand with the many human rights activists working for change. And we stand with all those whose human rights are under threat.  

 

This entry was posted in English, Our Work, Russia and Rights and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

DÉCLARATION DU RÉSEAU JURIDIQUE VIH CONCERNANT L’INVASION RUSSE EN UKRAINE

L’invasion de l’Ukraine par la Russie nous bouleverse profondément. Le Réseau juridique VIH a le devoir de s’exprimer, car il s’agit d’une région du monde où nous œuvrons et où la pandémie de VIH poursuit ses ravages.

L’occupation dévastatrice de l’Ukraine a un impact considérable sur notre travail et sur nos partenaires, dont nous sommes solidaires devant l’impensable.   

Dans les circonstances, des personnes vivant avec le VIH subissent des perturbations de l’accès aux services de santé et aux médicaments essentiels dont elles dépendent. Les efforts louables de l’Ukraine pour prévenir le VIH et promouvoir les droits humains subiront également des dommages collatéraux de cette guerre non provoquée.

Pour les personnes qui consomment des drogues en Ukraine, l’accès aux mesures de réduction des méfaits – y compris au traitement par agonistes opioïdes – est gravement menacé.   

Dans cette guerre, les personnes vivant avec le VIH, les personnes qui consomment des drogues, les personnes LGBTQ+, les personnes incarcérées, les travailleuse(-eur)s du sexe et d’autres personnes marginalisées souffriront énormément. Des vies seront perdues, et pas seulement à cause des tirs et des bombes.

Nous continuons à suivre l’évolution de la situation et restons en contact nos partenaires du pays dans la mesure du possible. L’attaque contre l’Ukraine et son peuple signifie que de nombreux projets relatifs aux droits humains seront nécessairement suspendus, ce qui est navrant.  

Mais nous demeurons fidèles à ces personnes et aux projets destinés à faire respecter leurs droits humains. Cela ne changera pas.

Nous sommes solidaires de l’Ukraine et de tou-te-s les Ukrainien-nes. Nous nous tenons aux côtés des nombreux militant-es pour les droits humains qui luttent pour le changement. Et nous défendons tous ceux et celles dont les droits humains sont menacés.

Cet article a été publié dans Anglais, Our Work, La Russie et les droits avec les mots-clefs . Publication Topic: . Publication Type: . Publication Language: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.