Letter to Ministers Bennett and Duclos re: Proposed cumulative threshold of 4.5 grams in BC

April 13, 2022

The Honourable Carolyn Bennett, M.D., P.C., M.P.
Minister of Mental Health and Addictions and Associate Minister of Health

The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos
Minister of Health

cc: Hon. Sheila Malcolmson, B.C. Minister of Mental Health and Addictions

Dear Ministers Bennett and Duclos:

Re: Proposed cumulative threshold of 4.5 grams in BC

We write as a coalition of over 20 civil society organizations in Canada, comprising people who use drugs and their families, Indigenous and racialized groups, service providers, legal organizations, research groups, and drug policy advocates. Our mission includes abolishing criminal and other laws, policies, and practices that control, stigmatize, pathologize, and punish people who use drugs.

We understand Health Canada is considering British Columbia’s request for an exemption from the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act to decriminalize simple possession up to a cumulative threshold quantity of 2.5 grams. As you know, this is far lower than the cumulative threshold of 4.5 grams requested by the province — already an exceedingly low cumulative threshold for many people who use drugs and near-unanimously rejected by BC’s Core Planning Table on Decriminalization.

Ministers: there is no legal or evidentiary basis for a cumulative threshold of 2.5 grams. Per the recommendation of our 2021 platform, we urge you to reject this quantity and dispense with threshold quantities altogether.1

As we’ve routinely communicated to you, there are significant risks of “net-widening” in defining a threshold that does not reflect real-world patterns of use. Drug markets will adjust to a low threshold, including via changes to the potency and amounts of drugs held or sold, potentially increasing overdose risk. Other harms resulting from a 2.5 grams threshold may include the incentivization of interactions with the unregulated market as people try to avoid criminalization by frequently purchasing smaller amounts.2 Those who will be most profoundly harmed by a low
threshold will be Black, Indigenous, and other racialized, marginalized, and low-income communities, who are profiled and disproportionately arrested and incarcerated for drug offences.

A 2.5 grams threshold flies in the face of your governments’ commitment to evidence-based drug policy, anti-racism, and reconciliation with Indigenous communities. It sets a dangerous precedent for other municipalities across Canada seeking an exemption. It disregards the recommendations put forward by BC’s Core Planning Table and caters to the unsubstantiated, stigma-based requests of police. We know Health Canada has met with police as part of its decision-making process, while requests from drug user-led groups like the Vancouver Area Network of Drug Users (VANDU) have been ignored entirely.

Decriminalization must be done right. You have a moral, legal, and ethical responsibility to uphold the human rights of people who use drugs; this requires you to centre their expertise. A 2.5 grams threshold will continue to inflict grave harms on our communities and must be abandoned.

We ask that you therefore:

1) provide us with the rationale and evidence for a 2.5 grams threshold; and
2) meet with us this month to ensure that the perspectives of people who use drugs are prioritized and the recommendations of the BC Core Planning Table are ultimately adopted.

 

Signed,
Avenue B Harm Reduction
AVI Health and Community Services
BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres
Blood Ties Four Directions
British Columbia Centre on Substance Use
British Columbia Civil Liberties Association
Canadian Association of People who Use Drugs (CAPUD)
Canadian Drug Policy Coalition
Canadian Students for Sensible Drug Policy
Centre on Drug Policy Evaluation
Drug Users Advocacy League
Drug User Liberation Front
ENSEMBLE Services Greater-Grand Moncton
Gilbert Centre
HIV Legal Network
Indigenous Harm Reduction Network
Moms Stop the Harm
Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies Canada
Ottawa Inner City Health
Pivot Legal Society
South Riverdale Community Health Centre

1 Decriminalization Done Right: A Rights-Based Path for Drug Policy, 2021.

2 A. Greer et al, “The details of decriminalization: Designing a non-criminal response to the possession of drugs for
personal use,” International Journal of Drug Policy 102 (2022) 103605.

This entry was posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language and tagged , . Publication Topics: , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Letter to Ministers Bennett and Duclos re: Proposed cumulative threshold of 4.5 grams in BC

Le 13 avril 2022

Madame Carolyn Bennett, MD, CP, MP.
Ministre de la Santé mentale et des Dépendances et ministre associée de la Santé

Monsieur Jean-Yves Duclos Ministre de la Santé

c. c. Madame Sheila Malcolmson, ministre de la Santé mentale et des Dépendances de la Colombie-Britannique

Madame la Ministre Bennett et Monsieur le Ministre Duclos,

Re : Un seuil cumulatif proposé de 4,5 grammes en Colombie-Britannique

Nous sommes une coalition de plus de 20 organisations de la société civile au Canada, représentant des personnes qui consomment de la drogue et leurs familles, des groupes autochtones et d’autres groupes racialisés, des fournisseurs de services, des organisations juridiques, des groupes de recherche et des militants de la politique en matière de drogues. Nous avons pour objectif d’abolir les lois pénales et autres lois, ainsi que les politiques et pratiques qui contrôlent, stigmatisent, pathologisent et punissent les personnes qui consomment de la drogue.

Nous sommes conscients que Santé Canada évalue présentement la demande de la Colombie-Britannique pour obtenir une exemption à la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances en vue de décriminaliser la possession simple jusqu’à une quantité seuil cumulative de 2,5 grammes. Cette quantité est déjà un seuil cumulatif considérablement trop bas pour de nombreuses personnes qui consomment des drogues ; elle a été rejetée à la quasi-unanimité par la « Core Planning Table on Decriminalization » de la Colombie-Britannique.

Honorables ministres : un seuil cumulatif de 2,5 grammes ne repose sur aucune justification légale ou probatoire. En accord avec la recommandation de notre plateforme de 2021, nous vous prions de refuser cette quantité et de renoncer complètement aux quantités seuils.1

Nous vous avons communiqué à plusieurs reprises le risque important associé à la fixation d’un seuil qui ne reflète pas les habitudes de consommation réelles. Les marchés de la drogue se conformeront à ce seuil bas, en modifiant par exemple la puissance et les quantités de drogues disponibles ou vendues, ce qui pourrait augmenter le risque de surdose. Les autres effets néfastes d’un seuil de 2,5 grammes sont notamment le renforcement des interactions avec le marché non réglementé, alors que les personnes essaient d’éviter la criminalisation en achetant régulièrement de plus petites quantités.2 Les groupes les plus affectés par un seuil bas seront les communautés noires, autochtones et autres communautés racialisées, marginalisées et défavorisées, qui sont victimes de discrimination et qui sont arrêtées et incarcérées de manière disproportionnée pour des infractions liées à la drogue.

Un seuil de 2,5 grammes est en contradiction avec l’engagement de votre gouvernement en faveur d’une politique des drogues fondée sur des preuves, de la lutte contre le racisme et pour la réconciliation avec les communautés autochtones. Cette mesure ne respecte pas les recommandations formulées par la Core Planning Table de la Colombie-Britannique et favorise les demandes non justifiées de la police, fondées sur la stigmatisation. Nous savons que Santé Canada a rencontré la police lors de son processus de prise de décision, tandis que les demandes de groupes dirigés par des personnes qui consomment des drogues, comme le « Vancouver Area Network of Drug Users » (VANDU), ont été entièrement ignorées.

Il faut réussir la décriminalisation. Il vous incombe, sur les plans moral, juridique et éthique, de faire respecter les droits fondamentaux des personnes qui consomment de la drogue ; pour ce faire, il est indispensable que vous mettiez l’accent sur leur expertise. Un seuil de 2,5 grammes continuera à provoquer des dommages graves à nos communautés et il faut l’abandonner.

Ainsi, nous vous demandons de

1. nous expliquer les arguments et fournir des preuves justifiant un seuil de 2,5 grammes ; et

2. nous rencontrer ce mois-ci afin d’assurer que les points de vue des personnes qui consomment des drogues sont prioritaires et que les recommandations de la BC Core Planning Table sont finalement adoptées.

Avec la signature de

Avenue B Harm Reduction
AVI Health and Community Services
BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres
Blood Ties Four Directions
British Columbia Centre on Substance Use
British Columbia Civil Liberties Association
CACTUS Montreal
Canadian Association of People who Use Drugs (CAPUD)
Canadian Drug Policy Coalition
Canadian Students for Sensible Drug Policy
Centre d’intervention et de prévention en toxicomanie de l’Outaouais (CIPTO) Centre on Drug Policy Evaluation
Drug Users Advocacy League
Drug User Liberation Front
ENSEMBLE Services Greater-Grand Moncton
Gilbert Centre
HIV Legal Network
Indigenous Harm Reduction Network
Moms Stop the Harm
Multidisciplinary Association for Psychedelic Studies Canada
Ottawa Inner City Health
Pivot Legal Society
South Riverdale Community Health Centre
Vancouver Area Network of Drug Users (VANDU)

1  Decriminalization Done Right: A Rights-Based Path for Drug Policy, 2021.

2 A. Greer et al, “The details of decriminalization: Designing a non-criminal response to the possession of drugs for personal use,” International Journal of Drug Policy 102 (2022) 103605.

Cet article a été publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language avec les mots-clefs , . Publication Topics: , , . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.