STATEMENT: SENATE MOTION CALLING ON FEDERAL GOVERNMENT TO INCREASE HIV FUNDING WELCOMED BY CIVIL SOCIETY

STATEMENT: SENATE MOTION CALLING ON FEDERAL GOVERNMENT TO INCREASE HIV FUNDING WELCOMED BY CIVIL SOCIETY The following can be attributed to Richard Elliott, Executive Director, HIV Legal Network.   December 1, 2020 – Ottawa – For far too long, year-over-year, the HIV response in Canada has been stalled, with funding flat-lined. More than $123 million … Read more

NEWS RELEASE: CANADA AND THE HIV RESPONSE: TOP ISSUES FOR WORLD AIDS DAY 2020

  CANADA AND THE HIV RESPONSE: TOP ISSUES FOR WORLD AIDS DAY 2020 Human rights, federal funding, opioid overdose crisis top priorities this year   November 27, 2020 — Tuesday, December 1st, is World AIDS Day. Given our current context, the dangers of underfunding the response to public health crises are all too evident. Every … Read more

Summary Policy Brief – HIV: Funding the Fight

From the launch of the Federal Initiative in 2004–05 through the end of the 2017–18 fiscal year, more than $123 million in total has been diverted or withheld from committed HIV funding. Services and organizations have either closed or have discontinued some programs, despite the clear need. Community organizations across the country have called for an adequately funded federal HIV … Read more

The Federal Initiative to Address HIV/AIDS in Canada (2004)

By the Government of Canada: “The launch of the Federal Initiative to Address HIV/AIDS in Canada signals a renewed and strengthened federal role in the Canadian response to HIV/AIDS.The Federal Initiative – a partnership of the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and Correctional Service Canada – will work toward a … Read more

Funding the Fight: Federal Support Needed to End HIV as a Public Health Threat in Canada

Note: this brief was originally published in 2018 and has been updated with recent developments in 2020.  In recent years, the Government of Canada has renewed a commitment to ongoing dialogue and constructive engagement with civil society in the response to HIV, hepatitis C virus (HCV) and other sexually transmitted and blood-borne infections (STBBIs). In … Read more

Adequately funding Canada’s federal HIV strategy

An open letter, sent on December 20, 2016 to Prime Minister Trudeau, Finance Minister Bill Morneau and then Health Minister Jane Philpott to draw attention to a serious, ongoing challenge to the HIV response in Canada. Over the last decade, there has been a very substantial loss of federal funds that were to have been … Read more

DÉCLARATION : LA SOCIÉTÉ CIVILE APPLAUDIT UNE MOTION AU SÉNAT DEMANDANT AU GOUVERNEMENT FÉDÉRAL DE HAUSSER LE FINANCEMENT DE LA RÉPONSE AU VIH

DÉCLARATION : LA SOCIÉTÉ CIVILE APPLAUDIT UNE MOTION AU SÉNAT DEMANDANT AU GOUVERNEMENT FÉDÉRAL DE HAUSSER LE FINANCEMENT DE LA RÉPONSE AU VIH Les propos suivants peuvent être attribués à Richard Elliott, directeur général du Réseau juridique VIH 1 Décembre 2020 – Ottawa – Depuis beaucoup trop longtemps, année après année, la réponse au VIH au Canada … Lire plus

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE: LE CANADA ET LA RÉPONSE AU VIH : ENJEUX PRIORITAIRES POUR LA JOURNÉE MONDIALE DU SIDA 2020

LE CANADA ET LA RÉPONSE AU VIH : ENJEUX PRIORITAIRES POUR LA JOURNÉE MONDIALE DU SIDA 2020 Droits humains, financement du fédéral et crise des surdoses d’opioïdes dominent   27 novembre 2020 — Mardi, 1er décembre, est la Journée mondiale du sida. Les dangers du sous-financement de la réponse à des crises de santé publique ne sauraient … Lire plus

Note de politiques – VIH : financer la réponse

Entre le lancement de l’Initiative fédérale (en 2004-2005) et la fin de l’année budgétaire 2017-2018, plus de 123 millions de dollars qui avaient été réservés à la réponse au VIH ont été détournés ou retenus. Plusieurs services et organismes ont fermé leurs portes ou abandonné des programmes en dépit de besoins évidents. Les organismes communautaires des quatre coins du … Lire plus

L’Initiative fédérale de lutte contre le VIH/sida au Canada (2004)

Par le gouvernement du Canada : Le lancement de l’Initiative fédérale de lutte contre le VIH/sida au Canada annonce un nouveau rôle renforcé pour le gouvernement fédéral dans la réponse du Canada au VIH/sida. L’Initiative fédérale, fruit d’un partenariat entre l’Agence de santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et le … Lire plus

Les millions manquants, le governement du Canada et le VIH

Alors que des organismes communautaires ferment leurs portes,  le gouvernement fédéral cautionne l’érosion constante des fonds fédéraux en VIH : on a perdu 104 millions $ dans le financement de la réponse.

Financer la lutte : le soutien du fédéral est requis pour mettre fin au VIH en tant que menace à la santé publique au Canada

Note : Ce document d’information a paru initialement en 2018 puis nous l’avons actualisé en 2020 selon des développements récents. Depuis quelques années, le Gouvernement du Canada a ravivé son engagement à un dialogue continu et à une collaboration constructive avec la société civile, pour répondre au VIH, au virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) et … Lire plus