STATEMENT: SENATE MOTION CALLING ON FEDERAL GOVERNMENT TO INCREASE HIV FUNDING WELCOMED BY CIVIL SOCIETY

STATEMENT: SENATE MOTION CALLING ON FEDERAL GOVERNMENT TO INCREASE HIV FUNDING WELCOMED BY CIVIL SOCIETY

The following can be attributed to Richard Elliott, Executive Director, HIV Legal Network.

 

December 1, 2020 – Ottawa – For far too long, year-over-year, the HIV response in Canada has been stalled, with funding flat-lined. More than $123 million in federal funding that was committed to addressing this pandemic has simply never been delivered. Much-needed services are absent and some organizations have shut down. People living with or affected by HIV have suffered and new infections have resulted when they could have been prevented.

Given our current context, we know all too well the critical importance of investing in public health. The COVID-19 and HIV pandemics both underscore the importance of respecting, protecting and fulfilling human rights in order to respond effectively to an ongoing public health challenge that is fueled by — and exacerbates — social and economic inequalities.

Today, on World AIDS Day (December 1), we are pleased that Independent Senator René Cormier has introduced a motion in the Senate that draws attention to the need to strengthen Canada’s HIV response. The motion calls upon the Government of Canada to adequately fund the federal HIV response at the level of $100 million annually, as was unanimously recommended by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Health more than a year ago. We unequivocally support this motion and urge federal leaders in both houses to recommit to ending HIV, in Canada and around the world.

The time is now for Canada to be a true public health and human rights leader. Further inaction cannot be an option.

-30-

 

Read the text of the Senate motion (Notice Paper, Motion No. 44): https://sencanada.ca/en/content/sen/chamber/432/orderpaper/011op_2020-11-17-e

 

Read a policy brief outlining stalled federal HIV funding: HIV: Funding the Fight

Visit www.hivlegalnetwork.ca/fundingthefight

 

Media Contact:

Janet Butler-McPhee, Director of Communications and Advocacy, HIV Legal Network

Mobile: 647-295-0861               Email: jbutler@aidslaw.ca

This entry was posted in English, French, HIV Funding, News, Our Work, Pub Language and tagged , . Publication Topics: , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Language

DÉCLARATION : LA SOCIÉTÉ CIVILE APPLAUDIT UNE MOTION AU SÉNAT DEMANDANT AU GOUVERNEMENT FÉDÉRAL DE HAUSSER LE FINANCEMENT DE LA RÉPONSE AU VIH

DÉCLARATION : LA SOCIÉTÉ CIVILE APPLAUDIT UNE MOTION AU SÉNAT DEMANDANT AU GOUVERNEMENT FÉDÉRAL DE HAUSSER LE FINANCEMENT DE LA RÉPONSE AU VIH

Les propos suivants peuvent être attribués à Richard Elliott, directeur général du Réseau juridique VIH

1 Décembre 2020 – Ottawa – Depuis beaucoup trop longtemps, année après année, la réponse au VIH au Canada est bloquée par un financement figé à un bas niveau. Plus de 117 millions de dollars qui avaient été prévus pour répondre à cette pandémie n’ont tout simplement pas été versés. Des services très nécessaires sont manquants et certains organismes ont fermé leurs portes. Les personnes qui vivent avec le VIH ou qui sont affectées par celui-ci en souffrent; de plus, de nouveaux cas d’infection résultent de cette situation alors qu’on pourrait les éviter.

Compte tenu du contexte actuel, nous ne connaissons que trop bien l’importance cruciale d’investir dans la santé publique. La pandémie de COVID-19 et la pandémie de VIH démontrent toutes deux la nécessité de respecter, de protéger et de réaliser les droits humains pour répondre efficacement à un défi continuel de santé publique qui est alimenté par les inégalités sociales et économiques, et qui les aggrave en retour.

Aujourd’hui, la Journée mondiale du sida (1er décembre), nous sommes heureux que le sénateur indépendant René Cormier présente une motion au Sénat pour souligner la nécessité de renforcer la réponse du Canada au VIH. La motion demande au Gouvernement du Canada de financer adéquatement la réponse fédérale au VIH à hauteur de 100 millions de dollars par an, comme l’a recommandé à l’unanimité le Comité permanent de la santé de la Chambre des communes il y a plus d’un an. Nous appuyons sans équivoque cette motion et demandons instamment aux dirigeants fédéraux des deux chambres de s’engager à nouveau à mettre fin au VIH au Canada et dans le monde entier.

Le Canada doit être dès maintenant, sans plus attendre, un véritable leader en matière de santé publique et de droits humains. On ne peut plus accepter de rester dans l’inaction.

-30-

 

Texte de la motion déposée au Sénat (Feuilleton des préavis, motion no 44) : https://sencanada.ca/fr/content/sen/chamber/432/orderpaper/011op_2020-11-17-f

 

Note de politiques décrivant le blocage du financement fédéral en VIH : VIH : Financer la réponse

Visitez : http://www.hivlegalnetwork.ca/site/fund-the-fight-hiv/?lang=fr

 

Contact pour les médias :

Janet Butler-McPhee, directrice des communications et du plaidoyer, Réseau juridique VIH

Mobile : 647-295-0861   Courriel : jbutler@aidslaw.ca

Cet article a été publié dans Anglais, Français, Financement VIH, News, Our Work, Pub Language avec les mots-clefs , . Publication Topics: , . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Langue